Coimbatore: Kongunadu CAS and KG CAS defeated their opponents with relative ease and entered the semifinals of the Bharathiar University inter-collegiate Zone ‘A’ cricket tournament at the SNR Sons College grounds here on Tuesday.

Thyagu’s (32 & four for 15) all-round show enabled Kongunadu score a thumping 111-run win over Bharathiar University College of Arts and Science (Gudalur), while Radhakrishnan (three for 18 & 68) played a stellar role in KG’s eight-wicket win over Dr. GRD College of Science.

The scores (quarterfinals): Kongunadu CAS 163 for nine in 25 overs (Thyagu 32, Harish 46, Safiq three for 29) bt Bharathiar University CAS (Gudalur) 52 in 14.1 overs (Thyagu four for 15); Dr. GRD CS 121 for nine in 25 overs (Sriram 37, Radhakrishnan three for 18) lost to KG CAS 122 for two in 20.1 overs (Radhakrishnan 68).

Inter-collegiate ball badminton

The Bharathiar University inter-collegiate ball badminton tournament for women, organised by the Kamban College of Arts and Science, Sultanpet, will be held at its campus on September 23 and 24.

CDVA selection trials

The Coimbatore District Volleyball Association will conduct selection trials for its junior girls and boys at the Nehru Stadium courts on September 27 (4 p.m.) and October 1 (3 p.m.) respectively.

The selected players will represent the District in the inter-District championship at Tirupur from October 7 to 10.

Tigers XI wins

Tigers XI Cricket Club won the TNCA-SDCA first division cricket league at the Neelambal grounds (Salem) recently. It beat Students Senior Cricket Club by 108 runs in the final.

The scores (final): First division: Tigers XI 197 in 45 overs (S. Senthil Kumar 54, J. Iniyan 42, U. Jayaraman three for 34) bt Students Sr. CC 89 in 45 overs (D. Ramakrishnan five for 17, R. Saravanan three for 31).

Second division: Chandramouli MCC 320 for eight (G. Suresh 66, R. Vijayakumar 44 n.o., S. Ranjith 73, R. Ashok three for 35) bt RTP CC 88 in 45 overs (R. Vijayakumar five for 11).

Pool winners: First division: Tigers XI & Students Sr. CC.

Second division: Chandramouli MCC & RTP CC. — Sports Reporter

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper