CHENNAI: S. Aravind (103) starred in Kedar CA’s 71 run win over FSCA in the final of the Prahlad under-10 cricket tournament on Sunday. V.V. Kumar, former India leg-spinner, gave away the prizes.

The scores (final): Kedar CA 203 for five in 25 overs (S. Aravind 103, Hrishi K Narayanan 31 not out) bt FSCA 132 for eight in 25 overs (P. Bhargav three for 20). Player of the match: S. Aravind (Kedar CA).

Special prizes: Player of the tournament: S. Aravind (Kedar CA), Best batsman: Hrishi K. Narayanan (Kedar CA), Best bowler: S. Aravind (FSCA), Promising Cricketers: C. Saiprasad (Prahlad CA), M. Siddharth (FS CA), Sailesh (Kedar CA).

Four-wkt. win

N. Ravichandran’s five for 51 helped Palavanthangal CC to a four-wicket win over Central Bank of India in a second division contest of the Kancheepuram DCA league recently.

The scores: I div.: Leo 138 in 25.3 overs (N.B. Sunil Kumar 54) lost to Kattankalathur 142 for four in 21 overs (M. Srinivasan 52 not out).

II div.: Central Bank of India 93 for six in 20 overs (G.V. Ashok Kumar 45, N. Ravichandran five for 51) lost to Palavanthangal 97 for six in 15.3 overs.

JPR triumphs

JPR clinched the men’s and women’s titles in the K.C.G. Verghese memorial inter-collegiate basketball tournament at the Hindustan College of Engineering here on Monday.

The results (final): Women: JPR 53 (Victoria 14) bt St. Joseph’s 35 (Sophia 17). Men: JPR 56 (Umesh Krishna 17) bt SSN 48 (Guru Prasad 15). Special prizes: Men: Best player of the tournament: Umesh Krishna (JPR); most promising player: Guru Prasad (SSN). Women: Best player: Teena (JPR); most promising player: Sophia (St. Joseph’s).

Darshan wins

Darshan Veeraraghavan, with a gross of 70, was the Open winner of the Monthly Medal golf tournament, held at the Madras Gymkhana Club golf annexe. C.V. Yudhvir (74) was the runner-up.

Other results: Handicap: Under-18: Winner: S. Mohan (nett, 68). Runner-up: Ishwar Achanta (68). Above 18: Winner: Raj Dharma Raj (66).

Bharath does well

L. Bharath (Velammal MHSS) and P. Bala Kannamma (St. Anne’s MHSS) emerged champions in the under-12 boys’ and girls’ categories respectively of the Didar Motors State-level open rapid chess tournament. Bharath scored seven points out of a possible eight while Kannamma scored eight. D.S. Shashaank (Jawahar Vidyalaya) and A. Akshaya (Vellayan Chettiar) clinched the under-14 boys’ and girls’ titles respectively.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper