Erode’s Karthick Maruthi and his co-driver S. Sankar Anand won the overall honours in the Mahindra Spice Challenge TSD rally which concluded here on Sunday evening.

Kolkata’s Subir Roy (co-driver Mustafa) finished runner-up while M.D. Ganesh Moorthy (T. Nagarajan) was third.

Karthik Maruthi also won the SUV Open while Sudip Kumar Ghosh (Arindam Ghosh) topped the Cars Open.

The two-day rally, which had JK Tyre as a lead sponsor, started from Poovar near Thiruvananthapuram on Saturday, had a halt at Alappuzha on Saturday night and reached Kochi on Sunday.

The results: Overall category & SUV Open: 1. K.P. Karthick Maruthi & S. Sankar Anand (11.26s penalty time), 2. Subir Roy & Mustafa (13.26), 3. M.D. Ganesh Moorthy (19.19). Car Open: 1. Sudip Kumar Ghosh & Arindam Ghosh (20:12s), 2. Benny Varghese & R. Deva Kumar (26.21). SUV OE category: 1. Saurav Chatterjee & Ashoke Kumar Basu, 2. Philip Baklin & David Sharon, 3. K. Oomen Philip & V. Sekar. Car OE category: 1. K. Dinky Varghese & C. Sakthivel, 2. Wilson Padayattil & Kuriakose Elias Parel.

Amateur category: 1. S. Srikarunya & C.A. Avinash, 2. N. Maheshwaran & S. Vignesh, 3. Vijay Pandian & K.P. Saravanan. Couples: 1. Sonu Bambi & Prakash, 2. P.A. Sreejith & Krishnaveni. Corporate category: 1. Sudheendra Hebbar & M. Sagar.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper