K.P. Karthick Maruthi and M.S. Shankaranand (Erode) clinched the four-wheeler open class for the second year in a row in the 13th Chander memorial rally, organised by the Coimbatore Auto Sports Club, here on Sunday.

Sree Maragatham and Sree Leela (Coimbatore) bagged their maiden title in the all-ladies category. Tamil Selvan and M.K. Munna made it doubly sweet for Erode, winning the overall two-wheeler class.

R.K. Maniammal, mother of late M.K. Chander, gave away the prizes.

The results (final):

Cars: Open: 1. K.P. Karthick Maruthi & S. Sankaranand (Erode); 2. Ganesh Moorthy & T. Nagarajan (Erode); 3. N. Murugan & K. John Jose.

All Ladies: 1. Sree Maragatham & Sree Leela (Coimbatore); 2. Ashwini & Prasanth (Coimbatore).

Novice: 1. Saravana Kumar, P. Saranjay Krishna & Pragadesh Suresh (Coimbatore); 2. D. Naren Raja, Suprej Venkat & Rajeev (Coimbatore); 3. Prabhu Gandhi Kumar & S. Rajasekar (Coimbatore).

Bikes: Overall: 1. M. Tamil Selvan & M.K. Munna (Erode); 2. Balu & Basith; 3. Venu Ramesh Kumar & C. Sakthivel (Coimbatore).

Novice: 1. S. Sabari Babu & M. Romeo Antony (Coimbatore); 2. A. Sebastian & N. Balakumar (Coimbatore); 3. N. Kandhesh Raj & N.S. Mohana Chandran.

Hat-trick by Aiyyappan

Medium-pacer P. Aiyyappan (five for 18, including a hat-trick) helped Wings CC score a 40-run win over Coimbatore Raiders CA in the TNCA-CDCA second division league at the SNR Sons College grounds on Sunday.

At the PSG Medical College grounds, K. Easwaramoorthi’s five for 16 was instrumental in Friends Recreation Club’s 87-run win over PSG College of Technology.

The scores:

II div.: Rainbow 1972 MMCC 95 in 42.3 overs (J. Praveen Edward 30, S. Rajesh three for 10) lost to Suryabala Cricketers 98 for four in 26.5 overs (M. Shajahan 36 n.o.).

Wings CC 156 in 37.2 overs (J. Vivek Peter 53, R. Deepal 48, P. Venkatesan four for 26, G. Suresh four for 22) bt Coimbatore Raiders CA 116 in 27.4 overs (S. Sundarajan 43, P. Aiyyappan five for 18, incl. a hat-trick, Arumugam three for 18).

Friends RC 167 in 39.5 overs (S. Naresh Kumar 33, K. Easwaramoorthi 31, A. Antony Samy 30, T. Shiva Prakash four for 32, R. Ragavendran three for 42) bt PSG Tech 80 in 34.1 overs (K. Easwaramoorthi five for 16).

IV div.: Rainbow Wizards CC 243 for eight in 50 overs (S. Suresh 82, R. Mahesh 36, R. Suresh 33, S. Komal three for 41) bt Cosmo Village (Cbe) SA 102 in 25.5 overs (S. Sathish Kumar three for 22, M. Mohanraj three for 11).

Narrow win for

All Stars

All Stars CC edged out Don Bradman CC by eight runs in the TNCA-NDCA second division league, for the A.R. Rajoo Gowder memorial rolling trophy, at the Lawrence School grounds at Udhagamandalam on Sunday.

The scores:

All Stars CC 190 (N. Mahboob Khan 50, W. Bakiaraj Benjamin three for 32) bt Don Bradman CC 182 (P. Anand 44, S. Saravanan five for 45, A. John Michael three for 41).

‘A’ Classic CC 118 lost to Rising Stars CC 120 for no loss (V.J. Jibin 65 n.o., J. Vijayan 37 n.o.).

Vijayakumar bowls well

P. Vijayakumar (five for 23) bowled Lakshmi Mills Colony CC to a comfortable 71-run win over Karuvampalayam CC in the TNCA-DCAT second division league at the Migros Kids School in Tirupur on Sunday.

The scores:

Lakshmi Mills Colony CC 220 for eight in 50 overs (R. Gowtham 72, V. Balakrishnan 39, Nagendra Prabhu three for 26) bt Karuvampalayam CC 155 in 38.4 overs (K. Palanisamy 31, M. Selvaraj three for 32, P. Vijayakumar five for 23).

Aiyyannar CC 158 in 41.3 overs (S. Mohanraj 30) lost to Jupiter CA 159 for six in 35.2 overs (S. Saravanan 52, C. Mohan Kumar 42).

Maruthi CC 102 in 30.2 overs lost to Velusamy CC 103 for five in 30.4 overs (S. Tamilarasan 39).

Bradman CC 129 in 45.3 overs (T. Arun 33, V. Sathish four for 13, P. Rasukutty three for 19) lost to Charms CC 130 for six in 27.5 overs (M. Selvakumar 32).

All-round show

by Vignesh

K. Vignesh’s all-round effort (four for 39 and 106) helped Villupuram defeat Cuddalore by nine wickets in the semifinals of the under-25 inter-district tournament conducted by the TNCA recently.

The scores:

Cuddalore 291 in 81.4 overs (T. Vasantha Kumar 94, R. Kugan 70, E. Jowett Gardnal 46, R. Rajkumar 33, E. Vasanth Kumar five for 31, K. Vignesh four for 39) & 115 in 27.5 overs (R. Kugan 38, D. Suresh five for 48) lost to Villupuram 325 in 72.2 overs (K. Vignesh 106, S. Md. Azarudeen 68, M. Srithar Raj 30, S. Naveedh four for 60) & 83 for one in 17 overs ( M. Srithar Raj 46 n.o.).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper