VISAKHAPATNAM: Karnataka lost to Hyderabad but its better net run rate helped it pip Tamil Nadu and win the title in the South Zone under-19 Vinoo Mankad Trophy tournament here on Sunday.

Sandeep Rajan stood out for Hyderabad with a fine all-round show with four wickets and an unbeaten 51 (3x4, 1x6).

Tamil Nadu went all out in its last match and beat Kerala to claim a bonus point. Tamil Nadu and Karnataka finished with 17 points each and after they being equal in the number of bonus points, the net run rate was taken into consideration to decide the winner. Karnataka had a NRR of 1.0018 compared to Tamil Nadu’s 0.9493.

Hyderabad was third with 16 points followed by Andhra (eight), which beat Goa for its second win, Kerala (2) and Goa (0).

The scores: Karnataka 211 in 46.5 overs (Manish Pandey 89, Sandeep Rajan four for 15) lost to Hyderabad 215 for three in 43.1 overs (Neeraj Bist 77, Sandeep Rajan 51 n.o.). Hyderabad 4 pts, Karnataka 0.

Goa 240 for four in 50 overs (Amit Yadav 61, Madhu Kamat 54 n.o., Vaibhav Nayak 44) lost to Andhra 244 for four in 43.4 overs (Y. Premsagar 135 n.o., T. Vamsi Krishna 44 n.o.). Andhra 4, Goa 0.

Kerala 150 for eight in 50 overs (Nihal Unni 44) lost to Tamil Nadu 151 for two in 32.3 overs (Praveen Srivatsan 54 n.o., S. Karthik 43 no.). Tamil Nadu 5, Kerala -1. — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper