BANGALORE: Karnataka drubbed Haryana 4-1 in the last of the cluster league matches of the 46th Junior National football championship on at Mandya to advance to the quarterfinals on Monday.

Mandeep Singh gave Haryana the lead in the 32nd minute. But, into the second minute of the first half injury-time, the host earned a penalty and the cool Vishal Kumar made no mistake. Into the second half, it was Karnataka which seized control and dominated proceedings, striking thrice in a matter of five minutes.

First, S. Nagaraju found the net in the 65th minute before Vinoth Kumar (67th) and M. Lokesh (70th) completed the tally.

Haryana did make sporadic raids but could not break the Karnataka defence.

Karnataka is now clubbed along with Jharkhand (cluster I winner), Tamil Nadu (cluster IV) and Punjab (cluster VI) in Group A of the quarterfinal league while West Bengal (cluster II), Orissa (cluster III), Manipur (cluster V) and Mizoram (cluster VII) are in Group B. The top two finishers in the groups will clash in the semifinals. The quarterfinal matches will commence on December 31. There will be no matches on Tuesday and Wednesday.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper