Regulars Atanu Das and Laishram Bombayla Devi have failed to find a place in the Indian squad for the World archery championship commencing at Belek Antalya, Turkey, on September 29.

Replacing them are little-known Kapil Kumar (men) and veteran Chekrovolu Swuro (women). Kapil last represented India at the Ogden World Cup in 2010.

This will be the veteran Nagaland archer’s second successive World meet having earned the country a historic team silver medal at Turin two years back in the company of Deepika Kumari and Bombayla.

The fourth National ranking archery tournament held at Aurangabad in Maharashtra (Sept. 4 to 7) also identified the fourth member in each division who will join the World championship squad for the 18th Asian championship in Chinese Taipei from October 29 to November 2.

The squad:

Recurve: men: Tarundeep Rai (Ser), Kapil (Rly) and Jayanta Talukdar (Steel Plant). Fourth: Rahul Banerjee (Rly, for Asian meet).

Women: Deepika Kumari (Steel Plant), Chekrovolu Swuro (Nag) and Dola Banerjee (Rly). Fourth: L. Bombayla Devi (Rly, Asian meet).

Compound: men: Sandeep Kumar (MP), Abhishek Verma (Dli) and Rajat Chauhan (Raj). Fourth: Kh. Ratan Singh (Ser, Asian meet).

Women: V. Jyothi Surekha (AP), Trisha Deb (Pun) and Jhano Hansdah (Jhr). Fourth: P. Lily Chanu (Mnp, Asian meet).— Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper