Kannur jolted defending champion Kozhikode 2-0 and entered the final of the Kerala State junior football championship at the Sree Narayana College Ground here on Thursday. Navaneet Chandran (18th minute) and Adarsh (80th) were the scorers.

In Saturday's final Kannur will meet the winner of Friday's second semifinal between Thrissur and Malappuram. Thrissur routed last year's runner-up Ernakulam 4-0, while Malappuram defeated host Alappuzha 5-2 via tie-breaker. The teams were level 1-1 at the end of the regulation period.

The results:

Semifinal: Kannur 2 (Navaneet Chandran 18th, Adarsh 80th) bt Kozhikode 0.

Wednesday's matches (quarterfinals): Malappuram 5 (Ijaz Ali; tie-breaker Arjun, Ali Mutuah, Sabith, Ijaz Ali) bt Alappuzha 2 (Nikhil R. Krishnan; Ali Akbar).

Thrissur 4 (Savan Kumar 5th, Aman 24th, Saneesh 39th, Akshay Verma 50th) bt Ernakulam 0. — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper