Host Salem and Kancheepuram got past their opponents by virtue of the first innings lead in the third round of the TNCA under-19 inter-district cricket tournament at the Neelambal and Salem Steel Plant grounds here on Tuesday.

At Madurai, Coimbatore's last wicket hung in to deny Thiruvallur the first innings lead, ending day two at 173 for nine in reply to Thiruvallur's 257 in its first innings. Both teams settled for a point each.

In the other match, five-wicket hauls for Pondicherry by K. Ravikumar and P. Thamarai Kannan went in vain as Sivagangai beat them by three wickets to get five points.

The scores: Tirupur 148 drew with Salem 168 for nine in 69 overs (M.S. Promoth 54, P. Navaneeswaran 45, M. Ganeshmoorthi six for 56).

Tiruchi 229 drew with Kancheepuram 275 for eight in 91.1 overs (S. Nironjan 53, U. Vishal 79, R. Prasanna Narayanan 41, P.S. Nirmal Kumar four for 96).

At Madurai: Thiruvallur 257 in 86.5 overs (R. Nilesh Subramaniam 78, S. Harish Babu 73, J. Karthik three for 43) drew with Coimbatore 173 for nine in 85 overs (R. Anirudh 49, S. Sujay 34, D.P. Chandrashekhar five for 58, K. Karthik three for 10).

Sivagangai 232 in 57.1 overs (K. Anok Raju 77, P. Sathonson 51, K. Ravikumar seven for 45) and 60 for seven in 24.5 overs (P. Thamarai Kannan five for 21) bt Pondicherry 115 in 43.3 overs (K. Aravind 29, A. Vasudevan four for 40, K. Anok Raju three for 16) and 176 in 37.3 overs (K. Aravind 37, P. Thamarai Kannan 35, A. Vasudevan three for 33, G. Aravind three for 13).

Vellore ahead

Coimbatore and Vellore took the first innings lead against Madurai and Puducherry in the TNCA under-16 inter-district cricket tournament at Vellore.

The scores: Madurai 112 in 62.2 overs (T. Ayyanar 38, Thirumurugan four for 34) drew with Coimbatore 128 for three in 29 overs (S.R. Suryaprassana 59, K. Kabin Sanjay 39 n.o.). Points: Coimbatore 3, Madurai 1.

Puducherry 81 in 74 overs (Santhosh Kumar 26, A. Abraham David Raj four for 20) and 28 for five in 28 overs drew with Vellore 168 for seven in 84 overs (G. Bharath 66, Sanjay Gowtham 28). Vellore 3, Puducherry 1 .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper