Jolly Rovers and Vijay advanced to the TNCA first-division final by virtue of gaining the first-innings lead in their respective semifinal matches which concluded here.

Rovers required three Globe Trotters wickets on Friday, which it obtained for a further 58 runs. Opener K. Mukunth carried his bat for 41, as Trotters was dismissed for 140, conceding a lead of 336. Rovers batted again, making 57 for no loss before the match was called off at lunch.

Vijay was 15 runs behind Young Stars’ 281 at stumps on the second day. It ended up declaring on 445 for five, captain S. Suresh Kumar helping himself to an unbeaten 113 (143b, 10x4, 1x6).

The final will be played at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium from January 16 to 18.

The scores (semifinals, final day): At SRMC: Jolly Rovers 476 and 57 for no loss in 17 overs drew with Globe Trotters 140 in 63.1 overs (K. Mukunth 41 n.o.).

At RKM-Vivekananda: Young Stars 281 drew with Vijay 445 for five decl. in 113 overs (K.B. Arun Karthick 90, M. Kaushik Gandhi 78, Rohan Prem 79, S. Suresh Kumar 113 n.o.).

Don Bosco in final

Yaksharath Sreekanth and M. Naveen took three wickets each to lead Don Bosco Egmore ‘A’ to a nine-wicket win over Vidya Mandir in the semifinals of the Don Bosco-MRF inter-school cricket tournament here.

The scores: Semifinals: Vidya Mandir 82 in 25.2 overs (K. Akshay Kumar 41, Yaksharath Sreekanth three for 17, M. Naveen three for 21) lost to Don Bosco Egmore ‘A’ 83 for one in 18.4 overs (Joy Kenny 27, Stephen Angello 29 n.o).

PSBB 173 in 28.2 overs (Adhithya Raguraman 29, K. T. R. Abishek 84, P. Hem Charan three for 29) lost to ST. Bede’s 176 for eight in 29.1 overs (V. K. Rohan Reddy 41, Dhruv Sreewastav 78).

Quarterfinals: D.A.V.  Mogappair 130 in 26.4 overs (S. Arun Eashwar 53, Yaksharath four for 28) lost to Don Bosco ‘A’ 133 for three in 21.4 overs (Joy Kenny 58 n.o).

PSBB 154 in 30 overs (S. Shushrruth Sai 63, Aditya Kamaraj 25) bt Santhome School 89 in 23.2 overs (J. Gokul Krishna three for 23, S. Ajay Maduresh four for 33).

Chettinad Vidyashram 124 in 30 overs (Pradhan Bharath 39, V. K. Karthikeyan three for 12) lost to St. Bede's 125 for eight in 29.4 overs (Dhruv Sreewastav 25, D. Anchit 39, Pradhan Bharath three for 21).

Vidya Mandir 186 for six in 30 overs (K. Akshay Kumar 26, Arjun Arun 62, B. Aravindh 36) bt St. Patrick’s 180 for nine in 30 overs (C. B. Rajasekar 56, Joel Roshan 27, I. S. Akash 26).

Chandigarh, Kolkata take honours

Chandigarh and Kolkata emerged the men’s and women’s overall champions in the All-India Central Revenue invitation table tennis tournament, organised by Income Tax Department (Chennai), at the Hall of TT, Nehru Stadium here on Friday. S. Senthamarai Kannan, Chief Commissioner of Income Tax, gave away the prizes.

The results (finals): Men: Singles: Rachit Chopra (Customs & CE, Chan) bt Dipankar Adhikary (Customs, Kol) 11-5, 7-11, 11-9. 11-7, 12-10. Doubles: Ajay Thukaral & Rachit Chopra (Customs, Chan) bt Dipankar Adhikari & Subrato De (CE, Kol) 9-11, 11-9, 11-7, 11-8. +40 yrs: Singles: N. Ravichandran (Income Tax, Pon) bt Ajay Thukral (Customs, Chan) 11-9, 11-7, 11-7. Doubles: Ajay Thukaral & Ramakanth (Customs, Chan) bt M. Hemanth Kumar & G.P. Sukumar (Customs, Hyd) 11-8, 11-5, 11-2.

+50 yrs: Singles: Subrato De (CE, Kol) bt Ajay Kumar(CE, Del) 11-5, 11-4, 11-8. Doubles: Subrato De & Swapan Barai (IT, Kol) bt A. Srinivasa Rao & Padam Singh (IT, Chen) 15-17, 11-7, 11-6, 13-15, 11-9.

Women: Singles: Jaita Pushilal (IT, Kol) bt Mantu Murmu (CE, Kol) 11-3, 11-8, 11-7, 12-10. Doubles: Mantu Murmu & Jaita Pushilal (IT, Kol) bt Vidya Ramachandran & Vijayalakshmi Sridharan (IT, Chen) 11-4, 11-8, 11-6. +35 yrs: Singles: Mantu Murmu (CE, Kol) bt Vidya Ramachandran (IT, Chen) 15-13, 12-10, 11-7. Doubles: Mantu Murmu (CE, Kol) & Pritikana Banerjee (CE, Kol) bt Vidya Ramachandran & Vijayalakshmi Sridharan (IT, Chen) 11-2, 11-7, 11-7.

Mixed doubles: Mantu Murmu (CE, Kol) & Dipankar Adhikari (CE, Kol) bt Vijayalakshmi Sridharan & N. Ravichandran (IT) 11-5, 11-5, 11-3.

Swati triumphs

H. Swathi (PS SSS) defeated U. Harini of National Public School 11-7, 11-6, 11-9 in a girls’ (Std. XII & below) final of the St. Joseph’s Anglo Indian HSS inter-school table tennis tournament which concluded here on Friday. M.S. Mythili, former International paddler, gave away the prizes.

The results: Std. XII & below: Final: H. Swathi (PS SSS) bt U. Harini (National Public School) 11-7, 11-6, 11-9. Semifinals: Harini bt P. Pavithra (Princess) 7-11, 9-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-8; Swathi bt R. Santhana Ishwarya (Our Ladys) 11-2, 11-13, 11-8, 9-11, 11-4.

Std. IX & below: Final: Harini bt P. Sweatha (AVM) 11-5, 11-3, 11-2. Semifinals: Harini bt P. Lakshmi (Vidya Mandir) 9-11, 11-7, 13-11, 11-3; Sweatha bt R.H. Mridhula (PSBB) 13-11, 11-4, 11-9.

Std. VI & below: Final: K.E. Monica (KV, Anna Nagar) bt K. Hema (Padma Sarangapani) 11-9, 5-11, 6-11, 12-10, 11-8. Semifinals: Monica bt T.R. Shruthi (Sri Sankara) 11-9, 12-14, 11-3, 11-7; Hema bt Mariya Ancy (St. Aloysius) 11-8, 9-11, 15-13, 5-11, 11-2.

TTT championship

The annual Triangle Tennis Trust (TTT) junior championship will be held from January 12 to 20 at the YMCA College of Physical Education, Nandanam. For details, contact Mr. Narayanan at 044-24353082.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper