Jolly Rovers is champion again

print   ·   T  T  
The Jolly Rovers team which won the Raja Palayampatti Shield in Chennai on Saturday.
The Jolly Rovers team which won the Raja Palayampatti Shield in Chennai on Saturday.

Sports Reporter

CHENNAI: Jolly Rovers retained the Raja of Palayampatti Shield, clinching a win by virtue of its first innings lead over Grand Slam in the TNCA first division league final at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium here on Saturday.

Rovers dismissed Grand Slam (overnight 173 for eight) for 220, giving itself a 126-run first innings lead. The remaining two Grand Slam wickets lasted a shade over 16 overs.

Rovers then undertook the formality of its second innings, racing to 68 runs in 16 overs for the loss of Vidyut and Gowjith Subhash, before play was called off at the stroke of lunch.

Gary Dumenil provided the morning's entertainment with an unbeaten 32, which included a towering six over mid on off M. Kaushik Gandhi.

Rovers skipper R. Sathish, the first innings century maker, finished the season with a spirit-lifting 1,245 runs, including six hundreds, from 12 matches. The winning team's bowling responsibilities were shouldered by offie V. Maaruthi Raghav who claimed 28 wickets at 22.79 in 13 matches.

The scores:

Final: Jolly Rovers 346 and 68 for two in 16 overs (Gary Dumenil 32 not out) drew with Grand Slam 220 in 78.4 overs (J. Madangopal 32, M. Sridhar Raju 33, V. Arun Kumar 29 not out, Suthesh four for 37, Maaruthi Raghav two for 55). Jolly Rovers won on first innings lead .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Durban to confirm ’22 CWG bid

South African city Durban will Monday move significantly closer to staging the 2022 Commonwealth Games — considered a possible launchpad... »