Pathanamthitta goalkeeper Joby Joseph, who plays for Titanium, has been named Kerala's Footballer-of-the-Year (2010-11) in the men's section.

K. Dhanya, also from Pathanamthitta, has been chosen best player in the women's section, while Kozhikode's Shibin Raj (boys) and Pathanamthitta's Bency Thomas (girls) have been adjudged best juniors (under-19).

Idukki's S. Rahul (under-16 boys), Kozhikode's Lazim Ali (under-13 boys) and T. Anjali (under-17 girls) won the honour in the other age groups.

The awards were announced during the Kerala Football Association's Central Council meeting here on Saturday.

The presentations will be made during the association's general body meeting to be held shortly.

Anilkumar held

Kerala's talented youngster S.L. Narayanan, the eighth seed, forced the seasoned O.T. Anilkumar to a draw in the seventh round of the 22nd Cusat Open all-India FIDE-rated chess tournament at the Cochin University here on Saturday.

However, despite the draw, the third-seeded Anilkumar maintained a slender half-point lead over his nearest challengers, Tamil Nadu's top-seeded M. Kunal, R.A. Pradeep Kumar, Kerala champion M.B. Muralidharan and Narayanan (with 6 points each).

The results (seventh round):

S.L. Narayanan (Ker, 6) drew with O.T. Anilkumar (Ker, 6.5), R.A. Pradeep Kuamr (TN, 6) drew with M. Kunal (TN, 6).

M.B. Muralidharan (Ker, 6) bt P. Srikanth (AP, 5), D. Yashdas (Kar, 5.5) drew with Malla Nooka Raju (AP, 5.5), V. Rajith (Ker, 5.5) drew with V.M. Rajeev (Ker, 5.5).

U.C. Mohanan (Ker, 5.5) drew with K. Arjun (Ker, 5.5), B. Shreeshan (Kar, 5.5) drew with K. Alex Thomas (Ker, 5), M. David Scanny (TN, 5) drew with C.T. Pathrose (Ker, 5).

K. Sai Prasanth (Kar, 5.5) bt Binju Oommen (Ker, 5), V.M. Jishore (Ker, 4) lost to D. Ashraf Subhani (AP, 5.5).

Sixth round:Anilkumar bt Mohanan, Kunal bt Mohamed Fawas, Joy Antony lost to Pradeep Kumar.

Alex Thomas lost to Narayanan, V. Sabarish lost to D. Yashas.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper