Last year’s runner-up JNPT ousted holder Mumbai by eight wickets and host Visakhapatnam pulled off an exciting two-run win over Mormugao in the semifinals of 33rd all-India major ports cricket championship at the Port stadium here on Friday.

So near yet so far

Mormugao needed 13 runs off the last over from its last wicket pair and Basavaraj Madar brought the team to near victory scoring a four and a six off N. Shyam Sundar but when three runs were needed off the last ball, he was caught by wicketkeeper V. Abraham.

Earlier, Ranjit Deshmukh and Nimish Panesari with two wickets each and Praful Thakur, claiming two wickets, bowled out Mumbai for 111 and JNPT scored the required runs in a quick time.

The scores:

Mumbai 111 in 20 overs (Ranjt Deshmukh three for 13, Nimish Panesari three for 29) lost to Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust 112 for two in 13.2 overs (Arman Shaik 38, Nandu Matre 32, Praful Thakur 25 n.o.).

Visakhapatnam 137 for eight in 20 overs (K.N.V. Krishna Mohan 44, Ch. Praneeth 33) bt Mormugao 135 in 20 overs (Basavaraj Madar 41, Premanand Dhumaskar 30, P. Jay Kumar four for 26).

Chaitanya PS posts win

S.F.S. High School, Seetammadhara and Chaitanya Public School recorded wins in the junior and sub-junior boys’ categories in the District Basketball Association’s mobile inter-school tournament league matches at the SFS School in Visakhapatnam on Friday.

Chaitanya P.S. rallied from a 11-13 first-half deficit to prevail over Sri Prakash, Seetammdhara 26-24 in the sub-junior boys’ event.

A two-minute silence was observed to mourn the death of G. Navin Sai of Chaitanya Public School.

The results:

Junior boys: S.F.S. High School 37 (V. Neeraj Kumar 15, Manoj Kumar 10) bt Sri Prakash, Seetammadhara 9.

Sub-junior boys: Chaitanya Public School 26 (A. Praveen 11) bt Sri Prakash 24 (Atush 15).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper