The third round of the ninth J.K. Tyre Rotax Max National karting championship returns to the Kari Motor Speedway in Chettipalayam, near here this weekend.

The championship, which features the micro max, junior max and senior max categories, saw different sets of winners in both rounds. But, the championship leaders in the respective categories are Kohlapur’s Pradyumn V. Danigond (Mohite’s Racing), Bangalore’s Kush Maini (Maini Racing) and Mumbai’s Anshuman Chatterjee (Rayo Racing).

The championship winners will get an opportunity to represent India in the world karting finals. The qualifying and heats will be held on Saturday followed by the pre-final and the final the next day.

Championship standings: Micro max: 1. Pradyumn V. Danigond 87.5 pts; 2. Yash Aradhya 80; 3. Mrinal Chatterjee 79. Junior max: 1. Kush Maini 173; 2. Krishnaraj Mahadik 164; 3. Dhruv S. Mohite 160. Senior max: 1. Anshuman Chatterjee 166; 2. Mithun Ganatra 158; 3. Raj Ganatra 157. — Principal Correspondent


Have unlimited family fun from March 31 March 21, 2014

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper