GM Sriram Jha and IM M.S. Thejkumar tied with 8 points each from 11 rounds in the National Rapid chess championships 2014 which concluded at Ahmedabad on Tuesday.

The former won the title in the playoffs since both had a similar tie-break score.

Jha took home a cash prize of Rs. 50,000. Thejkumar drew his last round game against J. Ramakrishna and received a cash prize of Rs. 25,000.

Final placings: 1. Sriram Jha (8-70.5-winner in Playoff); 2. M.S. Thejkumar (8-70.5); 3. R.R. Laxman (8-70); 4. Praveen Thipsay (8-67.5); 5. J. Ramakrishna (8-66.5); 6. S. Ravi Teja (8-65); 7. Syed Anwar Shozuli (8-64.5); 8. Dinesh Sharma (7.5); 9. Devaki Prasad (7.5).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper