TIRUCHI: Jamal Mohammed College (JMC) and H.H. Rajah’s College won the team championship in the men’s and women’s sections respectively at the Bharathidasan University inter-collegiate athletic meet here recently. St. Joseph’s in the men’s section and AVC in women’s category finished runners-up.

The winners:

Men: 100m: Manikanda Arumugam (JMC); 200m: T. Saminathan (JMC); 400m: S. Sathish Kumar (JMC); 800m: B. Veeramani (St. Joseph’s); 1500m: B. Veeramani; 5,000m: P. Loganathan (H.H. Rajah’s); 10,000m: P. Loganathan; 20km race: S. Balamurugan (H.H. Rajah’s); 110m hurdles: A.M. Abdul Khader (JMC); 400m hurdles: S. Sathish Kumar; 4x100m relay: JMC; 4x400m relay: St. Joseph’s; 20km walk: K. Arun (JMC); Long jump: N. Saravanan (JMC).

High jump: M. Vijay (St. Joseph’s); Triple jump: M. Manikanda Arumugam; Shot put: V. Shanmugaraja (JMC); Javelin: K. Sahul Hameed (St. Joseph’s); Discus: S. Karthik (JMC); Hammer: K. Sahul Hameed; Pole vault: Narayanasamy (St. Joseph’s); Decathlon: L. Madhavan (AVVM Sri Pushpam).

Women: 100m: R. Premavathi (AVC); 200m: R. Premavathi (AVC); 400m: S. Sujitha (AVC); 800m: S. Gowthami (Kumbakonam GAC); 1500m: L. Suriya (Pudukottai GAC for Women); 5000m: L. Suriya; 10,000m: T. Rajeshwari (AVC); 100m hurdles: R. Kanmani Devi (H.H. Rajah’s); 400m hurdles: S. Sujitha (AVC); 4x100m relay: H.H. Rajah’s; 4x400m relay: AVC.

5km walk: C. Divyanageswari (H.H. Rajah’s); Long jump: V. Sudha (H.H. Rajah’s); High jump: A. Sangeetha (H.H. Rajah’s); Triple jump: S. Delphine Rani (Bharath College); Shot put: I. Jackuline Mary (MRC); Discus: T. Shanmugapriya (H.H. Rajah’s); Javelin: I. Jakuline Mary; Hammer: T. Saranya (Kumbakonam GAC for Women); Heptathlon: K. Marikannu (H.H. Rajah’s).

Hat-trick by Stephen

N. Stephen Raj’s five-wicket haul, which included a hat-trick, went in vain as RVS SC lost to Kodai CC by 24 runs in a Dindigul DCA second division league cricket match in Dindigul on Sunday.

The scores:

First division: Sachin CC 129 in 26.1 overs (K. Prabhu Gandhi four for 35) lost to Seeni Bala CC 130 for two in 20.1 overs (K. Prabhu Gandhi 32).

Second division: Kodai CC 140 for eight in 20 overs (Sundar 25, N. Stephen Raj five for 32, incl. hat-trick) bt RVS SC 116 for seven in 20 overs (Sanjay Gandhi 25, M. Ramesh 40, Subramani three for 15).

Mansur CC 149 in 22 overs (Velmurugan three for 21, Jeyam three for 32) bt Aadith CC 113 for six in 22 overs (Keerthi Kesavan 53 n.o., John 27, Chandru three for 25).

Wakfboard College triumphs

MSS Wakfboard College won a penalty shoot out 4-3 against Don Bosco FC to win the title in the Madurai District Football Association dawn-to-dusk tournament in Madurai on Sunday. The teams were locked 0-0 at the end of regulation time.

The results:

Final: MSS Wakfboard College bt Don Bosco FC 4-3 (via tie-breaker); semifinals: MSS Wakfboard College 2 (Bharathamani, Anil) bt Temple City FC 0; Don Bosco FC 4 (Raja, Balaji, Michael, Nagendran) bt Victoria FC 0. — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper