V.A. Jagadeesh is Kerala’s Cricketer of the Year. The opener, who scored 1,423 runs in domestic cricket — and that is more than any other Indian player this past season — was also named the ‘best batsman’ of 2012-13 by the Kerala Cricket Association here on Wednesday.

Jagadeesh will also receive a special cash award for his outstanding performance.

Sandeep Warrier won ‘best fast bowler’ and K. Monish ‘best spinner’.

Salman Nizar got the ‘most promising cricketer’ award, while Vishnu Vinod won the award for best wicket-keeper.

The best woman cricketer award went to T. Shani.

Along with Jagadeesh, Sandeep and left-arm spinner C.P. Shahid will also be given special cash awards.

The awards will be distributed at the Tagore Centenary Hall here on May 30.

The awardees:

Cricketer of the Year: V.A. Jagadeesh.

Best batsman: V.A. Jagadeesh.

Fast bowler: Sandeep Warrier.

Spinner: K. Monish.

All-rounder: Rohan Prem.

Promising player: Salman Nizar.

Best coach: Sebastian Antoy.

Woman cricketer: T. Shani.

Junior woman: Anjana Paul.

Best Umpire: Tony Ematty.

Life-time achievement: Manikanta Kurup.

Outstanding performance: Sachin Baby.

Exceptional performance: Sanju Samson.

Curator: P.V. Ramachandran.

Special awards:

Under-22: K.C. Akshay, Nikhilesh Surendran and K. Monish.

Under-19: Akshay Chandran, Vishnu Vinod, Vishnu N. Babu, Shivaraj and Fabid Farooq Ahamed.

Under-16: Sijomon, Salman Nizar and S. Subin.

Under-14: Aswin Anand.

Women: S. Asha, T. Shani and Anjana Paul.

All-India universities: Vishak Chandran. — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper