Malappuram defeated Kollam by nine wickets and won the title in the State Women's under-19 cricket tournament at the DB College ground on Saturday.

Batting first, Kollam, despite Jincy George's half-century (51), could only muster 88 runs in its allotted 25 overs.

Malappuram cruised home in 14.1 overs as Roshini struck an unbeaten 41.

The scores:

Kollam 88 for four in 25 overs (Jincy George 51) lost to Malappuram 89 for one in 14.1 overs (Roshini 41 no)

Special awards:

Best batswomen: Jincy George (Kollam);

Best bowler: Gayathri (Thiruvananthapuram) .

Easy for Pankajakasturi

Pankajakasturi crushed IOB by an innings and 106 runs in the Thiruvananthapuram district ‘A' division cricket league at the Medical College ground on Sunday.

After conceding a massive first innings lead of 236 runs, IOB collapsed for the second time in the match and was bundled out for 130 in the second innings.

The scores:

IOB 125 and 130 in 30.3 overs (Narayanan Kutty 32, A.Rahul four for 45) lost to Pankajakasturi 361 in 87.3 overs (Vishnu Mahesh 127, Mintu Lal 116, M.Sabarinath five for 46).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper