The Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) announced that the opening round of the five-round Indian Rally Championship (IRC), the South India Rally, will be held here in March, 2014. The decision was taken at the FMSCI Rally Commission (Rallycom) meeting on Tuesday.

FMSCI will also hold a 10-round Indian National Time Speed Distance Rally Championship (INTSDRC), which will be spread across the country. The opening round of the INTSDRC will be held in February 2014 in Coimbatore.

It was also decided to allow foreign participants to take part in the championship next year in the meeting. The FMSCI also confirmed that in the 2014 IRC, the number of categories will be cut down to three main categories. — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper