Sivakasi: Favourite Indian Overseas Bank (Chennai), as expected, coasted to a comfortable 25-16, 25-18, 25-19 win over Tamil Nadu Police (Chennai) and entered the semifinals in the men’s section of the senior State volleyball championship at the ANJA College courts here on Thursday.

On the distaff side, St. Joseph’s (Chennai) scored a 25-21, 25-11, 25-16 win over Panimalar (Chennai) for a place in the last four.

The results:

Quarterfinal: Men: IOB (Chennai) bt TN Police (Chennai) 25-16, 25-18, 25-19; ICF, Chennai bt Chennai Spikers 29-27, 25-22, 20-25, 25-23. Women: St. Joseph’s (Chennai) bt Panimalar (Chennai) 25-21, 25-11, 25-16; PKR, Gobi bt PSGR Krishnammal College, Coimbatore 25-17, 25-13, 23-25, 25-14.

Earlier results (League): Men: TN Police (Chn) bt Veludayar (Tvr) 25-17, 25-23; Armed Police (Try) bt Sathyabama University (Chn) 25-19, 25-21; Vels University (Chn) bt STC (Pol) 25-22, 15-25, 25-18.

SZ Police (Mdu) bt Anjac (Siv) 25-18, 25-20; Income Tax (Chn) bt ICF (Chn) 25-23, 23-25, 25-16; Chennai Spikers bt Sri Krishna CAS (Cbe) 25-19, 25-23.

Indian Bank (Chn) bt SDAT Hostel (Chn) 25-22, 25-19; IOB (Chn) bt Customs (Chn) 25-22, 25-18; Armed Police (Try) bt Vels (Chn) 25-22, 25-18; TN Police (Chn) bt SZ Police (Mdu) 25-19, 25-20.

Women: PSGR Krishnammal (Cbe) bt SDAT (SR) 25-12, 25-22; Panimalar (Chn) bt GKM 25-20, 26-28, 25-21; PKR (Gobi) bt Nirmala College (Cbe) 25-21, 25-11; Dr. Sivanthi bt Saraswathi Pandian 25-5, 25-16; JBAS bt SAI (Myl) 25-20, 25-17; Armed Police (Chn) bt Tirumala Srinivasan 17-25, 25-22, 25-17.

SJN in final

Keartiman MHSS pulled off a surprise two-wicket win over strong favourite Sri Jayendra Saraswathi MHSS to enter the final of the CDCA under-14 inter-school cricket tournament, for the Rotary Club of Metropolis Trophy, at the SNR Sons College grounds in Coimbatore on Thursday.

After bowling out Jayendra for 112, Keartiman reached the target in the final over. In the summit clash, it will take on Satchidananda Jothi Kiketan (SJN), which defeated Mani HSS by eight wickets.

The scores (semifinals) : Sri Jayendra Saraswathi MHSS 112 in 23.1 overs (M. Gokul Nath three for 11) lost to Keartiman MHSS 113 for eight in 24.5 overs.

Mani HSS 65 in 18.4 overs lost to Satchidananda Jothi Niketan 66 for two in 14.5 overs.

Don Bradman CC wins

B. Vijay’s (three for 36 & 71 n.o.) all-round show went in vain as Don Bradman Cricket Club posted a 38-run win over Rising Stars Cricket Club in the TNCA-NDCA second division league for the A.R. Rajoo Gowder Memorial Rolling Trophy in Udhagamandalam.

The scores : Don Bradman CC 219 for nine in 40 overs (Aaron Arshay Keets 65 n.o., A. Sebastian 34, B. Vijay three for 36) bt Rising Stars 181 (B. Vijay 71 n.o., I. Abbas three for 19).

State level chess

A State-level chess tournament for school and college students and open category, organised by the SSM College of Engineering in Komarapalayam, will be held at its campus on December 15 and 16.

The top two finishers in each category will get the rare chance of competing with World champion Viswanathan Anand on December 22. For details, contact 9894123718 / 9865305688 on or before December 13.

Yogesh in sole lead

Yogesh Gautam of Haryana emerged sole leader with seven points after the seventh round of the Layal Celebration international FIDE-rated chess tournament at Surabhi College of Polytechnic in Namakkal on Thursday. Sai Prahlad of Tamil Nadu (6.5 points) is right behind the leader followed by five others with six points apiece.

Important results: Seventh round: A. Harikrishnan (TN) 6 lost to Yogesh Gautam (Har) 7; S. Ajay Krishna (Bloom) 5.5 lost to K. Sai Prahlad (TN) 6.5; Heikrujam Jacky Singh (Man) 5 lost to P. Stanley Samson (TN) 6; M. Aadhityaa (TN) 5 lost to Rakesh Kumar Jena (Odi) 6; Dangmei Bosco (Man) 6 bt Muthaiah (Bloom) 5; D. Ashraf Subhani (AP) 5 lost to Vijaya Sharathy (TN) 6; U.C. Mohanan (Ker) 5.5 drew with Verma Rahul (Mah) 5.5; J. Arun (TN) 5.5 bt M. Eashwar (TN) 5; Kannan (TN) 4.5 lost to M. Paramasivam (TN) 5.5; P. Bala Kannamma (TN) 5.5 bt Chincholimath Halsagar (Kar) 4.5.

Sixth round: Yogesh Gautam bt D. Ashraf Subhani; M. Eashwar lost to Harikrishnan; Sai Prahlad bt J. Arun; G. Jaswant (TN) 4.5 lost to S. Ajay Krishna; Stanley Samson bt V. Varshini (Bloom) 4.5; Rakesh Kumar Jena bt B. Anand Naik (AP) 4; S. Yogit (TN) 4.5 drew with Hirthickkesh (TN) 4.5; Muthaiah bt U. Mohamed Ibrahim (TN) 4; Vijaya Sharathy bt M. Vaisnav (TN) 4; P. Iyappan (Pud) 4.5 drew with Kannan.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper