VISAKHAPATNAM: Some exciting cricket is in store for the locals over the next five days when the South Zone Mushtaq Ali Trophy inter-State Twenty20 tournament opens here on Friday.

Many players have played the IPL and some had been in the Indian team for the Tweny20 World Cup and the tournament is expected to be an entertaining affair.

Among the players are Robin Uthappa and Anil Kumble of Karnataka, S. Sreesanth of Kerala, S. Badarinath, Murali Vijay and L. Balaji of Tamil Nadu, Y. Venugopal Rao, D. Kalyan Krishna and P. Vijaya Kumar of Andhra along with K.S. Shabuddin (who was with ICL), Swapnil Asnodkar and S. Sriram of Goa and Pragyan Ojha and Ambati Tirmula Rayudu of Hyderabad.

The inaugural version of the tournament was held here during April 2007. — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper