Imran Salim Khan and Liyakat Ali of Maharashtra won the men’s doubles crown at the Canara Bank National tenpin bowling championship here on Wednesday, edging out their nearest rivals by 21 pins.

Maintaining a slim lead from the first game, the duo beat the Karnataka pair of Huned and Akash Ashok, who finished second. The team of Harshavardhan Sarda and Dhruv Sarda finished third, 34 pins behind the leader. Imran shone for the winners with scores of 235, 200 and 212 in his final three games.

The results: Men’s doubles: 1. Imran Salim Khan & Liyakat Ali (Mah) 2,422; 2. Huned & Akash Ashok (Kar) 2,401; 3. Dhruv & Harshavardhan (Del) 2,388. — Sports Reporter

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper