As many as 21 clubs have been short-listed by the All India Football Federation to participate in the second division league this year. The winner and the runner-up will qualify for the I-League next season.

The participating clubs have been selected on the basis of the licensing process which started on November 21, 2012. The State associations were also asked to nominate clubs that are keen on participating in the second division league.

According to a press release, 47 nominations were received by December 22. The final deadline for submission of documents was extended to January 22 by the AIFF executive committee which met on January 15, 2013.

Eventually 21 clubs fulfilled the criteria.

The shortlisted clubs: EMTA Mohammedan Sporting, Green Valley SC, Kalighat Milan Sangha FC, Southern United FC, Vasco Sports Club (Goa), Royal Wahingdoh, United Soccer, Kenkre Sports, Hindustan FC, Techno Aryan, PIFA Sports, Dodsal Sports, Samaleshwari Sporting, Aizwal FC, Rangdajied United FC, Langsning FC, DSK Shivajains FC, Kohima Komets, Shimla Youngs, Eagles FC and George Telegraph Sports Club. — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper