Hyderabad will take on Warangal in the women's final of the senior inter-district basketball championship at Gachibowli Indoor Stadium here on Saturday.

In the semifinals on Friday, Hyderabad defeated Anantapur 48-8 after leading 27-6 at the break with Gayathri (12) being the top-scorer.

In the other match, Warangal put it across Krishna for a 52-34 win with L. Anjana Chowdhary (20), Anita Jaiswal (11) and G. Preethi (10) being the main scorers.

For the loser, Ch. Jyothi (18) put up a good show.

The results:

Men: Pre-quarterfinals: Medak 88 (Babu 29, Akhil 24, Srikanth 14) bt Srikakulam 66 (Prasanna 27, Sankara Rao 19).

Ranga Reddy 60 (Bhargav 16, Basha 13) bt Kurnool 41 (Farooq 13); Krishna 69 (Irfan Khan 18, Naga Raju 16, Karunakaran 15) bt Visakhapatnam 60 (Tharuna 19, Venkateswara Rao 12, Gopi 10).

Karimnagar 48 (Mallaiah 18) bt Kadapa 29.

Women: Semifinals: Hyderabad 48 (Gayathri 12) bt Anantapur 8; Warangal 52 (L. Anjana Chowdhary 20, Amita Jaiswal 11, G. Preethi 10) bt Krishna 34 (Ch. Jyothi 18).

Quarterfinals: Anantapur 34 (Divya 15) bt Ranga Reddy 17; Hyderabad 60 (Aashna 14, Manda 13, Neetu 12) bt East Godavari 33 (Surya 10); Krishna 45 (Jyothi 14, Naga Durga 17) bt Karimnagar 11; Warangal 31 (Preethi 10) bt Visakhapatnam 16 .

St. Andrews in final

St. Andrews School will take on Don Bosco in the final of the eighth John de Souza inter-schools football tournament at Bowenpally Grounds here on Saturday.

In the first semifinal, Don Bosco scored a solitary goal win over St. Michael School with Antony Francis netting the match-winner.

In the other semifinal, Shaun Varoon struck thrice to fashion St. Andrews' impressive 4-0 win over Pallavi Model School. The other goal was scored by Abhijeet.

The results: Semifinals: Don Bosco School 1 (Antony Francis) bt St. Michael School 0; St. Andrews School 4 (Shaun Varoon 3, Abhijeet 1) bt Pallavi School 0 .

Charan, Navdeep shine

Centuries by Charan Sai Teja (111) for Kosaraju and Navdeep Singh (159 not out) for Gemini Friends in the same match were the highlights of the A-Division two-day league cricket championship here.

The scores:

A-Division two-day league: Kosaraju 293 (Lohith 72, Charan Sai Teja 111, Abhijeeth 55, Chandrakanth four for 66, Pradeep three for 42) lost to Gemini Friends 296 for three (Amit Yadav 39, Navdeep Singh 159 not out, Parvath Singh 52 not out).

A-Division one-day league: HUCC 178 (Rameez Khan 77, Ibrahim Nahdi 37, Anil 32, Srikanth three for 34, S. T. Ramu three for 20) lost to Gouds XI 179 for two (Praveen Kumar 100 not out, Sudarshan 32) .

HCA u-14 tourney

The Hyderabad Cricket Association will organise the under-14 cricket tournament from December 2.

The draw copies are displayed on the notice board at the Gymkhana Grounds.

The teams have to register their players and obtain the identity cards immediately.

Inter-school hockey

Hyderabad Hockey Association will organise inter-school hockey tournament from November 30 at the Gymkhana Grounds here.

Entries close on November 28 with G. Satyanarayana, secretary of HHA, on Phone No. 9848 815151.

Bhavan's wins title

Bhavan's College, Sainikpuri, won the Osmania University inter-college carrom championship defeating Anwar-ul-Uloom 2-1 in the final.

The results:

Final: Bhavan's Sainikpuri bt Anwar-ul-Uloom 2-0 (Arjun bt Abul Mohsin 16-22, 18-12, 18-7; Praveen bt Md. Nawaz 21-7, 28-10).

Third place: Avanthi Degree College bt Railway College 2-0 (K. Jagath bt T. Ramakrishna 26-5; S. Anand bt Gyaneshwar 18-2) .

SBH in final

State Bank of Hyderabad scored a solitary goal win over City College Old Boys to enter the final of the Salar-e-Millath Cup football tournament here. The match-winner came through Faisal in the 60th minute.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper