Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: Amity Indian Nationals and G4S Hindustan Club emerged joint champions in the DSA senior division football league championship at the Ambedkar Stadium here on Friday but not before some anxious moments for the organisers.

The organising committee ran into avoidable problems when fading light forced the game to be stopped with the teams unable to break the deadlock at the end of the curtailed extra time session.

Even as hectic deliberations took place on and off the field, it was clear that the light was just not adequate for a tie-breaker to be conducted. Tempers rose in both the camps and chaos prevailed at the venue, further frustrating the players.

Both camps traded accusations and it was finally left to the organising committee to go ahead with its decision to declare Nationals and Hindustan joint champions.

The fare was mediocre even though Nationals could argue it had a couple of sensational scoring chances. So did Hindustan but overall it was a drab affair, not befitting the occasion.

Hindustan was tested early but it hung on. The best chance came for Hindustan in the second half but Sunday drove the penalty well over the bar. The penalty was awarded when Mahender Singh was brought down inside the box.

Later, N.D. Opara created a superb opportunity for Nationals but his cross was not directed precisely by Gyan Moyon.

For Nationals, Tuireising headed strongly towards the end of the contest but it was again poorly directed. A consistent performer for Nationals was Pronoy Roy under the bar.

Former India international Manoranjan Bhattacharya (Hindustan Club) was declared the best coach while other individual awards went to Manish Maithani of Nationals (best midfielder), Subhashsingha Roy of Tarun Sangha (best goalkeeper), Mahender Singh of Hindustan Club (best forward) and Gagandeep Singh of New Delhi Heroes (best defender).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper