Avdumber Hede will start from pole position in the JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup as the fifth and penultimate round of the 15th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing championship got underway at the Madras Motor Race Track, near here, on Saturday. He qualified with a time of 2:00.17s ahead of championship leader Ameya Walavalkar and Saurav Bandyopadhya.

In the LGB Formula 4 category, Ashwin Sundar (Dark Don Racing) fended off teammate Sarosh Hataria’s challenge and emerged victorious in both races.

Arjun, Raja triumph

In the day’s other races, Arjun Balu and Raja, triumphed in the Indian Touring Cars and the Indian Junior Touring Cars races respectively.

The results (winners only):

LGB Formula 4 (10 laps): Race 1: Ashwin Sundar (Dark Don Racing), 17:53.143s; Race 2: Ashwin Sundar 19:52.077s.

Indian Touring Cars (10 laps): Arjun Balu (Tiger Sport), 19:58.769s; Indian Junior Touring Cars (9 laps): Raja (Performance Racing): 21.57.332s.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper