Chennai: R. Sharath Kumar’s hat-trick helped Areva T & D RC defeat Mani Memorial CC by five wickets in the Kancheepuram District Cricket Association’s second division league here.

The scores:

First division: Brindavan CC 136 for six in 30 overs (K. Abheesh 56) lost to Adambakkam CC 140 for four in 24.2 overs (K.S. Vijayaraghavan 59, N.P. Balaji 40 n.o.); Garnet RC 113 in 24.4 overs (S. Senthil four for 41) lost to Kattankalathur CC 118 in 20.4 overs (E.K. Karthik 54 n.o., S. Ashwin 56 n.o.)

Second division: Mani Memorial CC 141 in 20 overs (M. Rajesh 50, R. Sharath Kumar four for 38) lost to Areva T & D RC 142 for five in 19.2 overs (Naveen 54); Engine Valves RC 113 for seven in 18 overs lost to Jai CC 116 for four in 15.4 overs (R. Chandrasekar 46 n.o.); Jain Combines CC 101 for five in 20 overs (P.V. Krishnan 40, S. Swaminathan four for 51) lost to Jai CC 104 for no loss in 10.4 overs (Rafi 77 n.o.).

Mohish’s spell in vain

Mohish’s four-wicket haul went in vain as SS Music squeezed out a two-wicket win over First Source in the Mobile Store Corporate Twenty20 held recently.

The scores: First Source 76 in 14.5 overs lost to SS Music 77 for eight in 13.4 overs (Mohish four for 12); Infosys 140 for nine in 20 overs bt Shri Ramana Heavy Engg. 107 in 18.3 overs.

ICICI 202 for seven in 20 overs (Mathi 57) bt Perot Systems 135 for six in 20 overs; CTS 154 in 20 overs (A.V. Arun 59) bt Zenta 89 in 17 overs.

Club Mahindra 163 for seven in 20 overs (Murali 63) bt HP 107 in 19.5 overs (Vikas Kumar 54 not out); Mando India 161 for six in 18 overs (Pandy 61) bt TCS 140 for seven in 18 overs (Jitendar 61).

ICICI 156 for six in 20 overs (Saravanan 52 not out) bt Coca-Cola 77 in 17.3 overs; Aircel 134 for six in 20 overs (Venkatramanan 44 not out) bt Consim Info 80 in 18.5 overs.

Rahul scalps five

P.S. Rahul picked up a five-wicket haul as St. John’s (Besant Nagar) romped to an eight-wicket win over Sri Sankara School in the G. Rajkumar National-level under-16 CBSE schools tournament.

The scores: Chinmaya Vidyalaya 66 for seven in 20 overs lost to St. John’s (Mandaveli) 68 for three in 12.2 overs.

Sri Sankara 52 in 15.1 overs (P.S. Rahul five for nine) lost to St. John’s (Besant Nagar) 53 for two in 5.5 overs.

Rishab sizzles

An unbeaten 81 by Rishab Rajshekar helped PSBB SSS overcome Sri RKMHSS by 129 runs in the TNCA-Boost city schools tournament (u-16) here on Tuesday.

In another match, Karthik Narayanan scalped five to help Jawahar Vidyalaya SSS ‘A’ beat PSMHSS by 127 runs.

The scores: The Ashram MHSS 191 for eight in 30 overs (S. Rohith 47) lost to Maharishi Vidya Mandir 192 for nine in 25.3 overs (R. Vijay 44).

PSBB SSS 243 for eight in 30 overs (Rishab Rajshekar 81 not out, V. Vijaya Krishnan four for 69) bt Sri RKMHSS 114 in 21.3 overs.

MGR Adarsh PMHSS 36 in 13 overs (P.A. Venkat four for 10) lost to St. John’s MHSS 39 for one in 5.1 overs; Jawahar Vidyalaya SSS ‘A’ 176 for eight in 30 overs bt PSMHSS 49 in 12.1 overs (Karthik Narayan five for 17).

St. John’s SSS 115 in 23.5 overs (Hariharan 43 not out) lost to St. Bede’s AIHSS 118 for one in 21.4 overs (Aravindraj 41 not out, Vinith 51 not out).

St. Michael’s Academy MHSS 96 in 27.2 overs (C. Nickolas 40) lost to Vidya Mandir SSS 97 for four in 21.2 overs.

Easy for Kedar CA

Kedar CA defeated J.S. Rao CA by six wickets in the under-14 section of the Little Hearts cricket tournament at SDNB Vaishnav College here recently.

The scores:

Under-12: Little Hearts ‘B’ 111 for seven in 30 overs (R. Karthik 44, Hariram three for 8, S.R. Rahul three for 18) bt Little Hearts ‘C’ 69 in 23.3 overs (S. Rohit three for 5).

Under-14: JS Rao CA 108 for nine in 30 overs (Radeesh 33, Aniruth Ragavan three for 12, Ram Ramesh four for 19) lost to Kedar CA 110 for four in 19.5 overs (Adithiya Giridhar 31, V.N.R. Vignesh 29).

DAV HSS posts win

DAV Higher Secondary School, Gopalapuram, scored a 5-3 victory over Bhavan’s Rajaji Vidyashram via tie-breaker in the Prabha Jaidev memorial knock-out football tournament conducted by DAV Mogappair on Tuesday.

The results:

DAV (Gopalapuram) 5 (Amresh Narayanan, Vignesh, Hari, Sundar Raman, Ajay Narayanan) bt Bhavan’s Rajaji Vidhyashram 3 (Aravind, Abishek, Sampath).

Don Bosco (Egmore) (tie breaker) 4 (Zakeen, Johan, Muruga Prasanna, Bijay) bt SBOA, Anna Nagar 2 (Farooq Khan, Shakensha).

AVM Meiyappan HSS 1 (Pradeep) bt DAV Matric (Anna Nagar) 0.

MCC Higher SS (Chetpet) 2 (Alexander, Vasanth Kumar) bt Sri Shankara Sr. School, Adyar 0.

DAC (CBSC) (Anna Nagar) 3 (Vinoi, Yaman, Vivek Krishna) bt Devi Academy, Valsaravakkam 0.

DAV (CBSC) Gopalapuram 2 (Sahil Arya, Faraz) bt SBIOA (CBSC) Annanagar West 1 (Butkupar).

Football stadium at Port Blair

The project for the 3000-capacity football stadium which is to come up at Port Blair under the FIFA-Tsunami funding for the Andamans-Nicobar area, has reached the implementation stage.

FIFA is financing to the tune of Rs. 3.9 crore for this project as part of its rehabilitation programme through the medium of football.

According to the Chief Coordinator of the Project, C.R. Visswanathan, the noted architects C.N. Narayana Rao and Co will do the designing as the company had done for Chennai and Kochi’s football stadia.

The Chennai-based M/s Inma International, with vast construction experience in many countries, will be the contractors.

The work is expected to start sometime in September, he said.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper