Principal Correspondent

ANANTAPUR: Haryana pacemen did even better than their Andhra counterparts bundling out the host for a paltry 138 in 46 overs thus securing a first-innings lead of 32 runs in the course of the second day’s play in the Ranji Trophy Plate Group B match at Anantapur Sports Village here on Wednesday.

However, Andhra speedsters dealt Haryana a crippling blow by reducing it to 107 for five in 52 overs in the second essay at close of play on a day that witnessed as many as 15 wickets falling to pacemen.

Undeterred by the poor show by its batsmen, Andhra pacers bowled their hearts out in the second innings and, in the last ball of the first over, Atchutha Rao had opener Anit Rawat caught by a tumbling Shahabuddin at fine leg.

His partner Rahul Dewan showed character to hold his end up even as the rival attack kept taking wickets regularly. He remained unbeaten with 62 runs in 223 minutes at close.

Andhra’s fielding was sloppy as Venugopala Rao failed to latch on to a regulation catch in the slip cordon to let Sachin Rana off the hook. Wicketkeeper Manoj Sai made a mess of an opportunity to dismiss Rana as he faltered in gathering a throw by Atchutha Rao thus failing execute a run out.

In the first innings, indiscreet strokes and lack of application were the reasons for the pathetic show by the Andhra batsmen. Opener L.N. Reddy was dismissed when he shuffled across only to see his leg stump pegged back by Joginder Sharma off the very first ball of the day.

Debutant A. Rakesh made his exit slashing at an away-going delivery off Sanjay Budhawar in the next over.

The scores: Haryana — 1st innings: 170

Andhra — 1st innings: L.N. Prasad Reddy b Joginder Sharma 3, H.H. Watekar lbw b Sachin Rana 15, A. Rakesh c Nitin Saini b Sanjay Budhwar 5, Y. Venugopala Rao b Joginder Sharma 24, B. Sumanth c Nitin Saini b Sachin Rana 0, Manoj Sai c&b Sanjay Budhwar 17, K.S. Shahabuddin c&b Sanjay Budhwar 13, T. Atchutha Rao lbw b Dhruv Singh 11, Sankar Rao c Anit Rawat b Dhruv Singh 21, D. Siva Kumar (not out) 13, P. Vijaya Kumar b Sanjay Budhwar 4, Extras (lb-11, w-1) 12; Total (in 46 overs) 138.

Fall of wickets: 1-17, 2-22, 3-43, 4-43, 5-47, 6-70, 7-81, 8-112, 9-117.

Haryana bowling: Joginder Sharma 15-3-27-2, Sanjay Budhwar 17-2-60-4, Sanjay Rana 8-3-25-2, Dhruv Singh 5-1-11-2, Yujvinder Chahal 1-0-4-0.

Haryana — 2nd innings: Rahul Dewan (batting) 62, Ankit Rawat c Shahabuddin b Atchutha Rao 0, Sunny Singh c Manoj Sai b Vijaya Kumar 4, Nitin Saini b Shahabuddin 0, Sachin Rana lbw b Atchutha Rao 13, Sumit Sharma c Manoj Sai b Vijaya Kumar 11, Manav Sharma (batting) 11, Extras (nb-4, w-2) 6; Total (for five wkts in 52 overs) 107.

Fall of wickets: 1-2, 2-14, 3-15, 4-38, 5-62.

Andhra bowling: K.S. Shahabuddin 11-4-13-1, Atchutha Rao 11-2-26-2, Vijaya Kumar 15-6-34-2, Siva Kumar 12-3-26-0, Sankar Rao 3-0-8-0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper