HYDERABAD: Harshitha Rao defeated Nidhi 9-2 in the girls’ under-10 semifinals of the AP State open junior tennis tournament at the Ganesh Raman Tennis Academy here on Monday.

The results: Girls: Under-10: Harshitha Rao bt Nidhi 9-2; Saranya bt Abeer 9-6.

AGORC posts win

AGORC beat AOC Centre 5-2, via the tie-breaker, in the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy Challenge Cup football tournament at Trimulgherry here on Monday. At the end of regulation time, the teams were locked goalless.

Narrow win

Andhra Jyothi beat Gemini TV by seven runs in the Press Club of Hyderabad’s inter-media cricket tournament here.

The results: New Indian Express 93 for nine (Sampath 28, Satya four for 26) lost to TV 9 XI 95 for seven.

Eenadu 38 (Chaitanya three for five, Laxman three for eight) lost to TV 5 XI 42 for no loss.

Andhra Jyothi 80 (Maheshwar Prasad 40, Ramu four for 14) bt Gemini TV 73 for nine (Suresh five for 15).

Asian schools chess

The Asian schools chess championship will be conducted in AP in October. This and other decisions were taken at the AP Chess Association’s annual general body meeting on Monday. It was also decided to conduct the under-19 boys’ and girls’ Nationals in August. The summer coaching camps will also be conducted in all district headquarters, including Hyderabad. Further details may be had on 92473-99717.

Chess camp

The A2H Chess Academy will conduct a summer camp from May 1 to 31. Children between four and 16 are eligible.

Those interested may register at A2H Chess Academy, House No. 3-5-5, beside Canara Bank, Vivekananda Nagar, Kukatpally, Hyderabad. Ph: 98494-96953.

Women’s cricket camp

The Ranga Reddy district women’s cricket association will conduct summer camps from May 1 at the MCA Cricket Academy (opposite Big Bazar), near Kamineni Hosptial, LB Nagar, Hyderabad. Call Syed Masood Ahmed (98497-63580) for details.

Brace by Vikram

Vikram scored a brace in Sri Kodandarama FC’s 3-0 win over Waltair Whites in a first round match in the Bhupathi Raju memorial football tournament in Visakhapatnam on Monday.

Vikram scored in the 10th and 22nd minutes of the first half. Ganesh completed the margin in the 42nd minute.

Other results:

Sportsmen Club 4 (Pathi, Ashok, Satish and Babu Rao) bt Sri Polamamba 3 (Kunchala Rao, Bhushan, Vijaykanth).

Sampath Memorial 4 (Praveen, Ramesh, Yellaji, Vinod) bt Bhupathi Raju 1 (Rambabu).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper