Grandmaster P. Harikrishna and double GM norm holder D. Harika rose to the occasion and made it a grand Indian double in the Asian Individual Chess Championships here as they clinched the gold in the open and women's sections respectively.

Harikrishna defeated Zhao Jun of China in the last round to emerge as the champion. He was a little lucky too as overnight sole leader Yu Yangyi of China suffered a defeat at the hands of Nguyen Ngoc Troung Son of Vietnam.

It was a fantastic effort by the former world junior champion, especially as the victory came with black pieces.

It was a similar story for Harika as she too needed to win her last round game against Chinese Tan Zhongyi with black and everything went according to plan.

It turned out to be a three-way tie at the top in the open section with Harikrishna, Yangyi and Son scoring 6.5 points apiece but the Indian won the gold with the best tiebreak score.

There were more cheers for India in the women's section, as apart from Harika, Eesha Karavade also came up with an inspired performance to win the bronze medal.

The silver in this category went to Pham Le Thao Nguyen of Vietnam.

For the record, Harika finished first on 6.5 points and it was a five-way tie for the second spot in which Padmini Rout finished sixth overall.

Apart from the medals here, both Harika and Harikrishna also made it to the next world championship cycle by virtue of securing a seat from here.

Important results:

Final round (Indians unless specified): Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son (VIE, 6.5) beat Yu Yangyi (CHN, 6.5); Bu Xiangzhi (CHN, 6) drew with Krishnan Sasikiran (6); Zhao Jun (CHN, 5.5) lost to P Harikrishna (6.5); Rinat Jumabayev (KAZ, 5) beat Rustam Kasimdzhanov (UZB, 5); Parimarjan Negi (5.5) drew with Wesley So (PHI, 5.5); Elshan Moradiabadi (IRI, 6) beat Surya Shekhar Ganguly (5); Lu Shanglei (CHN, 6) beat B Adhiban (5); Oliver Barbosa (5) drew with Abhijit Kunte (5); G N Gopal (4.5) drew with Vidit Gujrathi (4.5); S P Sethuraman (5) beat Yang Kaiqi (CHN, 4); Vaibhav Suri (4.5) beat Yu Ruiyuan (CHN, 3.5); M Shyam Sundar (4) beat Bakr Jwan (SYR, 3); Debashis Das (3) lost to Alavi Sayed Javad (IRI, 3).

Women: Tan Zhongyi (CHN, 5.5) lost to D Harika (6.5); Huang Qian (CHN, 6) drew with Eesha Karavade (6); Pham Le Thao Nguyen (VIE, 6) drew with Irine Kharisma Sukandar (INA, 6); Padmini Rout (6) beat Olga Sabirova (UZB, 5); Khademalsharieh Sarasadat (IRI, 4.5) lost to Munguntuul Batkhuyag (MGL, 5.5); Nguyen Thi Mai Hung (VIE, 5) drew with Mary Ann Gomes (5); Nafisa Muminova (UZB, 5) beat Swathi Ghate (4.5); Soumya Swaminathan (4) beat Mariam Vardkar (IRI, 0.5) . — PTI

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper