Hanifa, Saravana Kumar walk their way into record books

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
R. Logeshwaran of SDAT won the under-16 boys’ 100m hurdles gold.— Photo: M. Periasamy
R. Logeshwaran of SDAT won the under-16 boys’ 100m hurdles gold.— Photo: M. Periasamy

Chennai boys A. Hanifa (Universal Sports Foundation) and S. Saravana Kumar (St. Joseph’s Sports Academy) walked their way into the record books on the penultimate day of the Sri Krishna Institutions 26th State junior open athletics championship at the Nehru Stadium here on Saturday.

Hanifa stopped the clock in a record timing of 51:53.8s for the under-18 10km walk gold. He bettered his best effort of 52:35.1s set in Krishnagiri this year.

Saravana Kumar followed it up with a record timing of 48:44.3s for the similar distance in the under-20 group. He erased his own mark of 49:57.4s which came at Krishnagiri again.

M. Sowmiya of NLC (Neyveli) clocked 14.7s for the under-18 100m hurdles gold. Interestingly, it was one better than the effort put in by P. Deepika (15.1s), the under-20 winner from St. Joseph’s Sports Academy.

The results (winners only): Boys: U-14: 100m: M. Dhanush (KAC) 11.7s. Long jump: M. Jeeva (St. Joseph’s) 5.98m; U-16: 100m: B. Karthikeyan (SDAT) 11.0s. 100m hurdles: R. Logeshwaran (SDAT) 13.7s. Long jump: P.S. Vishnu (KAC) 6.50m. Hammer throw: N. Parthiban (SDAT) 36.65m.

U-18: 100m: Augustine Yesudas (KMSC) 10.9s. 110m hurdles: A.U. Navin Kirubakar (Karl Marx) 14.6s. 400m hurdles: S. Dastagir Basha (U/A) 00:56.7s. 1500m: B. Venkateswaran (St. Joseph’s) 04:09.4s. 10km walk: A. Hanifa (USF) 51:53.8s ( NMR ). Hammer throw: R. Murali (GQTA) 44.83m. High jump: A. Khassan Khan (St. Joseph’s) 1.89m.

U-20: 100m: K. Prem Kumar (St. Joseph’s). 400m hurdles: S. Mervin (SDAT) 53.0s. 1500m: B. Daniel (SDAT) 04:09.0s. 5000m: A. Mano (SDAT) 16:05.7s. 10,000m: M. Sathish Kumar (St. Joseph’s) 35:05.0s. Triple jump: S. N. Mohammed Salahuddin (SDAT) 15.30m. 10km walk: S. Saravana Kumar (St. Joseph’s) 48:44.3s ( NMR ). Hammer throw: C. Kishore Kumar (St. Joseph’s) 47.71m.

Girls: U-14: 100m: M. Devi (Nvli) 12.8s. U-16: 100m: C. Tina (Nvli) 12.9s. Long jump: S. Nandhini (St. Joseph’s) 5.03m; U-16: Javelin: M. Priya (Salem) 32.82m.

U-18: 100m: K. Subhathira (SDAT) 12.9s. 100m hurdles: M. Sowmiya (NLC) 14.7s. 400m hurdles: T. Pavithra (St. Joseph’s) 01:07.7s. 1500m: V. Kruthika (St. Joseph’s) 05:15.9s. 3000m: S. Vijaylakshmi (St. Joseph’s) 11:29.1s. Long jump: G. Karthika (SAI) 5.67m. Discus: M. Mahalakshmi (St. Joseph’s) 35.52m. Pole vault: Priyadarshini (SDAT) 2.20m.

U-20: 100m: P. Deepika (St. Joseph’s) 12.4s. 800m: I. Krishnaveni (SDAT) 02:23.3s. 100m hurdles: P. Deepika (St. Joseph’s) 15.1s. 400m hurdles: M. Maheswari (SDAT) 01:05.9s. 1500m: M. Myndhana Devi (SDAT) 05:04.7s. 5000m: M. Rajeswari (SDAT) 18:54.8s. 10,000m walk: M. Divya Bharathi (St. Joseph’s) 1:04:13.6s. Pole vault: E. Pavithra (SDAT) 2.40m. Shot put: V. Nandhini (SDAT) 11.29m.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Big win for Canara Bank

Canara Bank registered a thumping seven-wicket win over State Bank of Travancore (SBT) in a league match of the Rs. 12 lakh prize-money 1... »