BANGALORE: HAL Sports Club the reigning champions, put it across a fighting ASC 3-1 for its fourth straight win in the BDFA Super Division football league at the Football Stadium here on Tuesday.

The Aircraftmen took the lead through medio Rajendra Prasad in the 31st minute through a penalty after Nanda Kumar was fouled inside the box. Later the speedy Satish Kumar (Jr) netted a brace of goals in the 42nd and 72nd minutes.

ASC, for whom this was its second defeat in three matches, reduced the margin in the injury time thanks to a `penalty’ award by referee Bharat Mani.

HAL’s Sumit Thapa tripped Thirunavakarasu inside the box and the resultant `spot’ award was converted by Suresh Maria.

In the ‘A’ Division league, AGORC downed Reserve Bank 4-1 with goals from Raghavendra (65th), Raju (67th), Stephen (78th) and Sharat (81st) after Karthik had given the bankmen a 30th minute lead.

Postal beats SAI

Meanwhile on Monday, Postal defeated Sports Authority of India (SAI) 2-1 in the super division league.

In a keen contest, the Postal men enjoyed the upperhand with their attacking flair and secured an early 2-0 lead with Neslin Xavier (12th) and Aravind (34th) getting into the scorers list.

However four minutes before the end, Don Bosco struck a superb goal to reduce the final margin for SAI.

Easy for Royals

Earlier, Royals snuffed out BUFC 4-2 in an ‘A’ Division fixture.

Shin (2), Satish Kumar and Shiv Kumar got the goals for Royals while Sashi and Madhu had put BUFC in the front twice.

Meanwhile, the BHEL (EPD) team submitted a letter of withdrawal to the organisers — Bangalore District Football Association (BDFA).

It may be recalled that BHEL (EPD), the promoted side, had conceded a walk over to BEML on March 10 as some of its ‘contracted’ players failed to turn up.

BDFA had then awarded three points and two goals to the Earth Movers. BHEL matches will now be rescheduled and the team will be relegated to the lower division next season.

There will be no match on Wednesday.

IAF thumps ITI SC

Dilip (127) and P.M.S. Reddy’s (124) centuries and Pankaj’s all-round show (61 n.o. and three for 23) helped IAF thump ITI SC by 270 runs in a KSCA Group II, third division semifinal here recently.

The scores: IAF 412 for seven in 55 overs (Dilip 127, P.M.S. Reddy 124, Pankaj 61 n.o., Imtiaz 36) bt ITI SC 142 in 41.3 overs (Sidney Frank 60, Pankaj three for 23).

Big win for Mico SC

P. Jayapal’s 115 and Chandra’s four for 33 spell helped Mico SC defeat RBI by 114 runs in a KSCA Group II second division league match here recently.

The scores: Mico SC 301 for four in 30 overs (P. Jayapal 115, Nanda Kishore 73, T.P. Nagaraj 59) bt RBI 187 in 29.2 overs (Ashwin Punja 53, Chandra four for 33); Hutti Gold Mines CC 232 for five in 30 overs (Kariyappa 114) bt ITC CC 113 in 28.3 overs; BHEL (EDN) SC 186 for nine in 30 overs (Chandrashekar 32, Jagadish 26 n.o., Srinath three for 38) lost to KSFSB 189 for five in 24.3 overs (T.K. Ananth 66, Balaji 31 n.o., Narayan 28).

KSTRC SC 180 for seven in 30 overs (Manjunath 39, Ramesh Harsha 29, Giri three for 32) lost to BMP 181 for three in 28.5 overs (Rajesh 84 n.o., Ravi 49); BEML SC (KGF) 116 in 27.5 overs (K.P.N. Murthy 38) lost to EPF RC 117 for three in 25 overs (Sree Kumar 45 n.o., Jagannath 27).

SWR 262 for four in 29 overs (Yoganantha 101, Dhanajaya 32, Venkatesh 26 n.o.) bt Secretariat CC 182 in 28 overs (Nandeesh 46, Deepak 31, S. Dwarakesh five for 32); Corporation Bank 235 for six in 30 overs (Murgesh Mugbasth 70, T. Vinay 45, Pramodh Kamath 41, Vinodh three for 34) bt ABB CC 142 in 27.3 overs (Jagadish 28 n.o., Manjunath 26).

Presidency triumphs

Presidency College clinched the cricket crown in the RBANMS silver jubilee inter-collegiate tournament with a 184-run win over RBANMS in the final here on Tuesday.

Presidency piled up 277 for eight in 40 overs with Pavan (83), Manoj (50) and Avinash (35) being the main run-getters.

In reply, RBANMS crumbled against Prithvi (six for 28) and Avinash (three for 27) to be dismissed for 93 in just 17.1 overs.

The scores: Presidency College 277 for eight in 40 overs (Pavan 83, Manoj 50, Avinash 35, Shinoy 29, Mahendra 27, Ganesh three for 53) bt RBANMS College 93 in 17.1 overs (Prithvi six for 28, Avinash three for 27).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper