Gurpreet Singh came up with a burst of five points in the climactic stages to pip Olympic silver medallist Vijay Kumar to the gold (28-27) in the men’s rapid fire pistol event at the Kumar Surendra Singh Memorial shooting championship here on Thursday.

It was a commendable effort by Gurpreet as he bridged a gap of five points.

Gurpreet had qualified on top with 583 points, three ahead of Vijay. “Vijay is my senior in the Army. I wanted to get five at least once and am glad I did and got the gold,” said Gurpreet, who had consulted coach Pavel Smirnov midway through the final, to strike a memorable rhythm in the climax.

Vijay himself was quite sporting about the defeat and said that he had been overcoming a shoulder injury through the season and was keen to check his condition in the competition.

If it was an Army sweep in rapid fire pistol, Ravi Kumar of Air Force asserted his prowess as he led from the start to finish in winning the men’s air rifle gold.

Ravi beat the Akhil Sheoran by 1.8 points for the gold. He led by 1.7 point before the last shot and delivered a 10.5 to ensure victory, before the latter pulled the trigger.

In women’s 50-metre rifle prone event, Raj Chaudhary of Army pipped Lajja Gauswami of Gujarat on count-back after both had tied on 591 and 34x (inner 10s). Raj had 100 on the last card to Lajja’s 99.

The results: Men: 10m air rifle: 1. Ravi Kumar 206.4 (624.5); 2. Akhil Sheoran 204.6 (617.7); 3. Rahul Poonia 183.7 (617.5).

Juniors: 1. Akhil Sheoran 617.7; 2. Rahul Vaidwan 614.3; 3. Shubham Malik 612.2.

Youth: 1. Sourav Tanaji Dalavi 611.9; 2. Manpinder Singh 606.8; 3. Pratik Borse 606.6.

25m rapid fire pistol: 1. Gurpreet Singh 28 (583); 2. Vijay Kumar 27 (580); 3. Pemba Tamang 22 (577).

Women: 50m rifle prone: 1. Raj Chaudhary 591; 2. Lajja Gauswami 591; 3. Tejaswini Muley 588.

Juniors: 1. Anjum Moudgil 588; 2. Jayashree Das 580; 3. Chahat Deep Kaur 578.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper