K.H. Gopinath (211 batting, 235b, 22x4, 1x6) and K. Bharath Shankar (124 batting, 14x4) made merry for Jolly Rovers at IOB’s expense, racking up an unbeaten 339-run stand for the opening wicket on day one of the eighth round of the TNCA first division cricket league.

Highest run-getter

Gopinath’s effort on Wednesday — his third century of the season — made him the highest run-getter (618 runs in his seventh game) thus far in this year’s league. Bharath completed his second hundred.

On a day dominated by left-arm spinners (they claimed 12 of the 14 wickets to fall), S. Omesh’s unbeaten 69 (10x4, 1x6) helped TSC finish with 228 against TI Cycles. Omesh added 49 runs for the last wicket in the company of D. Giripal (2). Deepak Singh, who claimed six wickets, was supported by fellow left-arm spinner R. Karthikeyan (three for 56). In reply, TI Cycles went to stumps on 73 for four.

Alexander scalps five

Another left-arm spinner, R. Alexander, had much to savour as his first five-wicket haul of the season enabled AG’s Office restrict Young Stars to 191. Young Stars, on 146 for four at one stage, lost its way. AG’s Office, in response, ended the day on 103 for five.

Kaushik joins the party

M. Kaushik Gandhi’s third hundred of the season (133 batting, 239b, 9x4, 1x6) put UFCC (T. Nagar), which reached 233 for two, in a position of strength against India Pistons. Along with V. Ganga Sridhar Raju (52, 1x4), he put on 145 runs for the first wicket.

Off-spinner Prasanth Chandran (five for 61), in tandem with seamer Sunil Sam (three for 54), helped curtail Grand Slam’s score to 183. Stumper U. Sushil pouched six catches. Globe Trotters was on 50 for one at close of play.

The scores (round eight, day one): At Murugappa: TSC 228 in 70.5 overs (S. Omesh 69 n.o., Deepak Singh six for 73) vs. TI Cycles 73 for four in 21 overs. Toss: TSC.

At Guru Nanak: Alwarpet 164 in 87.3 overs (B. Rahul 53, Malolan Rangarajan four for 25). vs. Vijay. Toss: Alwarpet

At IIT-Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 339 for no loss in 90 overs (K. Bharath Shankar 124 batting, K.H. Gopinath 211 batting) vs. IOB. Toss: Rovers.

At SRMC: Young Stars 191 in 52.4 overs (Petson Mathews 52, R. Alexander five for 65) vs. AG’s Office 103 for five in 34.3 overs (K. Manoharan 41 batting). Toss: Young Stars.

At MRF-Pach. ‘A’: Grand Slam 183 in 65.4 overs (Prasanth Chandran five for 61, U. Sushil (w.k.) six catches) vs. Globe Trotters 50 for one in 18 overs. Toss: Slam.

At CPT-IP: UFCC (T. Nagar) 233 for two in 90 overs (V. Ganga Sridhar Raju 52, M. Kaushik Gandhi 133 batting) vs. India Pistons. Toss: UFCC (T. Nagar) .

Stars of the day

K.H. Gopinath (Jolly Rovers) 211 batting vs. IOB

Deepak Singh (TI Cycles) six for 73 vs. TSC

U. Sushil (Globe Trotters) six catches vs. Grand Slam

M. Kaushik Gandhi (UFCC (T.Nagar)) 133 batting vs. India Pistons

K. Bharath Shankar (Jolly Rovers) 124 batting vs. IOB

Prasanth Chandran (Globe Trotters) five for 61 vs. Grand Slam

R. Alexander (AG’s Office) five for 65 vs. Young Stars

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper