P. Gopinath and Md. Irshad defeated Anvesh Sindhoor and G. Sriranga Teja 22-20, 21-16 in the men’s doubles final of the inaugural Hyderabad Open badminton tournament organized by Rose Petals at PJR Indoor Stadium in Chandanagar near here.

The results: Men’s doubles: Final: P. Gopinath & Md. Irshad bt Anvesh Sindhoor & G. Sriranga Teja 22-20, 21-16.

Semifinals: P. Gopinath & Md. Irshad bt Ajay Ravi & Sathya Prasad 11-21, 21-18, 21-11; Anvesh Sindhoor & G. Sriranga Teja bt Abhinava Kashyap & Jayanarayan Rayaroth 21-13, 21-14.

Men’s doubles: 35 years & above: Final: Venkat & Sai bt N. Krishnamohan & Vithal Srinivas 19-21, 21-19, 21-13. Semifinals: Venkat & Sai bt Venkatagiri & Venkat Reddy 21-11, 14-21, 25-23; N. Krishnamohan & V. Srinivas bt A.P. Reddy & N. Srinivas 21-19, 21-11.

Karnataka triumphs

Karnataka scored a 12-run win over Kerala in the final of the inaugural National deaf cricket championship at Gymkhana Ground here on Sunday.

Batting first, Karnataka scored 119 for eight with Mohammad Saad (38) being the main scorer.

In reply, Kerala folded up for 107 with Chetan Bhovi being the main wicket-taker.

The scores: Karnataka 119 for eight (Mohammad Saad 38, S. Pradeep three for 25) bt Kerala 107 (Chethan Bhovi four for 20).

Shravanthi to lead

Shravanthi Naidu will lead Hyderabad in the South Zone Inter-State women’s cricket tournament (T-20) to be held in Chennai from February 22 to 28.

The players should report to coach Abdul Bari Wahab at Gymkhana Ground here from February 5.

The team: Shravanthi Naidu (capt), Mamtha Kanojia, Sunita Anand, M. Shalini, M. Revanthi, Ananya Upendran, Soujanya Nath, S. Arundhati Reddy, S. Sowmya, V.M. Kavya, G. Sangeetha, Sindhuja Reddy, Rachana S. Kumar, M. Keerthana and S.R. Gayathri. Coach: Abdul Bari Wahab. Trainer: Keerthi. Physio: P. Nikhila.

Mahbubnagar wins

Mahbubnagar recorded a 27-run win over Medak in the final of the HCA Inter-district under-25 T-20 cricket championship here.

Batting first, Mahbnagar scored 120 for nine with Mahesh (34) being the top-scorer. In reply, Medak folded up for 93 with Abid (four for 20) being the wicket-taker for the winner.

The scores: Final: Mahbubnagar 120 for nine (Mahesh 34) bt Medak 93 (Abid four for 20).

Meher Prasad shines

Good spell by J. Meher Prasad (six for 24) helped Gaganmahal record a nine-wicket win over Sacred Heart in the ‘A’ Division one-day league cricket championship here.

The scores: ‘A’ Division one-day league: Sagar XI 143 for eight (Sachith Naidu 30, J. Swamy five for 30) lost to Tarakarama 144 for eight (Vikram Raju 64, Ramraj five for 45).

Sacred Heart 64(J. Meher Prasad six for 24) lost to Gaganmahal 65 for one (S. Vamshidhar Reddy 42 n.o.).

Sunshine 175 (L. Pradeep 49, Jaidev 31, Sanketh three for 25, Tapasi five for 34) bt Reliance 127 for nine (Vijender 39, Srikanth four for 26).

Tanmay to lead

Tanmay Agarwal will lead Hyderabad in the South Zone Inter-state under-22 cricket tournament for P.S. Ram Mohan Rao Trophy to be held in Vizag from February 5 to 11.

The team: Tanmay Agarwal (capt.), Chandrasekhar, Lohit, Rahul Singh, K.S.K. Chaitanya (wk), Chaitanya Krishna, D.B. Parashar, Pratyush Reddy, C.V. Milind, Chintala Satish, Muzzamil, Surjeet Parbhatani, Abhinav Reddy, Tarun Yadav and Saaketh Sai Ram. Coach: R. Harinarayana Rao. Manager: Kamlesh Parikh.

AIFF statement

All India Football Federation in a communication on Sunday informed that there is no legitimate President and the Secretary of Andhra Pradesh Football Association.

This was in response to a query posed by some local officials in the wake of some officials sending press notes to the media suggesting that they were holding the above key posts.

E.Co.R. advances

At Visakhapatnam, Ashik’s first-half goal helped East Coast Railway Sports Association down VDFA ‘A’ 1-0 and enter the last eight of the Kosaraju Charitable Trust Trophy football tournament at the Railway stadium on Monday.

Ashik scored the goal in 20th minute converting a pass from Chinna.

The railway team’s tally would have gone up but DFA goalkeeper Adinarayana brought off many saves.

The DFA had its chances but could not convert them into goals.

Visakhapatnam Port Sports Council will meet Koraput Special Police in the first quarterfinal on Tuesday.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper