Sports Reporter

Chennai: Parry’s off-spinner N. Ragavendran took five for 31 to restrict Indian Bank to 96 on the second day of their TNCA first division second round match at the Murugappa-TI Cycles ground here on Tuesday. Parry’s ended the day at 92 for two, increasing the lead to 195.

K. Noorul Riaz scored his second century of the season to help Aruna declare at 360 for five against Southern Railway Institute at the Railway ground. Noorul’s 285-ball 130 constituted 88 singles and six boundaries. He was involved in a 159-run stand with Jesu Babu Honeyman (58 runs).

Abhinav fires again

At Pachaiyappa’s ‘A’, Abhinav Mukund notched up his second century this season, with a 200-ball 103 that took Vijay to 254 for five. Abhinav, who was dropped on 19 by wicketkeeper U. Sushil, put on an 80-run opening stand with K. Varun Kumar (24 runs) and a 95-run stand with R. Prasanna (43 runs) for the second wicket.

At IIT-Chemplast, J. Gowjith Subash scored an unbeaten 134-ball 108 to take Jolly Rovers to 500 from its overnight score of 361 for four. Gowjith, who struck 13 fours and two sixes, put on 87 runs for the fifth wicket with N. Ajay Kudua who made 57. In reply, opener R. Prashanth scored 103 in 116 balls (17 fours) to take Young Stars to 234 for eight at close.

Alwarpet was made to follow-on in the second round match against Grand Slam at ICL-Gurunanak, after Grand Slam’s innings ended on 358. Medium pacer M. Raja picked three wickets, as Alwarpet was dismissed for 163 in 52.5 overs, and ended the day with its second innings score at 42 for one in 15 overs.

At CPT-IP, K.H. Gopinath scored 67 runs, as India Pistons ended the day at 163 for six in 78 overs, in reply to UFCC T. Nagar’s 260.

The scores: Jolly Rovers 500 in 121 overs (J. Gowjith Subash 108 not out, N. Ajay Kudua 57, S. Vidyut 163, Petson Matthews 59, V. Subramania Siva 48) vs Young Stars 234 for eight in 59 overs (R. Prashanth 103, S. Ramesh 56 batting).

Globe Trotters 195 in 93.1 overs (U. Sushil 71, R. Ashwin five for 60) vs Vijay 254 for five in 84 overs (Abhinav Mukund 103, R. Prasanna 43).

Grand Slam 358 in 108 overs (K.B. Arun Karthick 115 A.C. Prathiban 81, K. Sriram 54) vs Alwarpet 163 in 52.5 overs (V. Maruthi Raghav 46) & 42 for one in 15 overs .

Parry’s 199 & 92 for two in 27 overs (M. Hari Krishna 50) vs Indian Bank 96 in 61.5 overs (N. Ragavendran five for 31).

S. Rly Instt. 184 & three for no loss in five overs vs Aruna 360 for five declared in 104 overs (K. Noorul Riaz 130, Jesu Babu Honeyman 58, S. Anirudha 48).

UFCC (TNagar) 260 in 99.2 overs (B. Vijay Rahul 100, Shravan Krishnan 45, M. Prabhu four for 82) vs India Pistons 163 for six in 78 overs (K.H. Gopinath 67).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper