GKD MHSS edged out St. Peter's MHSS (Chennai) 19-18 in an exciting final encounter and emerged the first-time champion of the State-level under-17 inter-School ball badminton championship, organised by the Directorate of School Education, at Paramakudi recently. Earlier, GKD defeated the Krishnagiri wing of the Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu 15-14 in the quarterfinals and Pachiappa's GHSS (Kancheepuram) 18-9 in the semifinals.

Easy for Thiagi NGR

Santosh Kumar struck twice in Thiagi NGR Sports Club's 3-0 victory over LEC Sports Club in the CDFA third division football league at the PSG Medical College grounds on Thursday.

The results: Thiagi NGR SC 3 (Sampath 8, Santosh Kumar 13, 46) bt LEC SC 0; Olympus SC 3 (Ashwin 12, 47, Soundaryan 16) bt KRV MFC 1 (Manoj 22) .

Hussain strikes it rich

V.M. Kwaja Hussain of Sri Ramakrishna Institute of Technology clinched a triple gold in the Tamil Nadu State Games (Thondamuthur Block) athletics meet recently.

The results: Boys: 100m: 1. V.M. Kwaja Hussain (Sri Ramakrishna IT); 2. B. Ajai (Sri Ramakrishna); 3. S. Thanga Pandi (Dr. Gnanambigai MHS). 200m: 1. V.M. Kwaja Hussain; 2. M. Manikandan; 3. S. Kanmani Krishnan (Sri Ramakrishna). 400m: 1. V.M. Kwaja Hussain; 2. S. Rajesh J. Anand (Thondamuthur BHS); M. Balakrishnan (Dr. PTSA). 1,500m: 1. A. Rajesh J. Anand; 2. P. Saravana Kumar (Thondamuthur BHS); 3. S. Thanga Pandi. Long jump: 1. B. Manoj Kumar (Kovai Kalaimagal CAS); 2. S. Kanmani Krishnan; 3. S. Ramkumar (Kovai Kalaimagal). Shot put: 1. Ram Kumar (Devarayapuram); 3. S. Vinoth Kumar (Devarayapuram); 3. R. Prakash (Devarayapuram).

Girls: 100m: 1. N. Poornima (Thondamuthur GHSS); 2. A. Seema Angeline (Kovai Kalaimagal CAS); 3. D. Nandhini (Kovai Kalaimagal). 200m: 1. N. Thangamani (Narasipuram GHS); 2. N. Poornima (Thondamuthur GHS; 3. P. Jothimani (Narasipuram GHS). 800m: 1. A. Revathi (Narasipuram GHS); 2. S. Vijayalakshmi (Thondamuthur GHS); 3. R. Saratha (Thondamuthur GHS). Long jump: 1. D. Nandhini; 2. P. Jayanthi (Thondamuthur); 3. N. Poornima. Shot put: 1. D. Nandhini; 2. T. Tharani (Thondamuthur); 3. V. Manimekalai (Devarayapuram). Discus: 1. P. Jayanthi; 2. D. Nandhini (Devarayapuram); 3. M. Poornima .

TT meet

The Medimix Madras District table tennis championship will be organised by SDAT-Chandra TT Academy, Chennai on January 29 and 30 at the D.G Vaishnav College, Arumbakkam. Entries close on January 24 with J. Selvakumar, Ph: 94441 44482, 2825 6169.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper