Gayathri claims 100m hurdles gold

Sports Reporter
print   ·   T  T  
MOP Vaishnav's G. Gayathri on her way to clinching the honours in the 100m hurdles.
MOP Vaishnav's G. Gayathri on her way to clinching the honours in the 100m hurdles.

G. Gayathri of MOP Vaishnav clinched the gold in the 100m hurdles on the second day of the A.L. Mudaliar athletics meet at the Nehru Stadium here on Wednesday. She overcame a not so impressive start to emerge victorious in 14.2 seconds.

In the 400m race, Loyola’s Binu Aquito repeated last year’s feat of winning the gold medal with a 48.9 second effort. His focus will now shift to tomorrow’s 200m sprint, of which as well he is the defending champion.

The 100m crowns in men’s and women’s categories went to Guldeep Singh of Loyola (10.6s) and P. Deepika of MOP (12.1s) respectively.

The results:


100m: 1. P. Deepika (MOP) 12.1, 2. K. Arthi (DG Vaishnav) 12.3, 3. P.S. Vinothini (Ethiraj) 12.4; 400m: 1. M. Maheshwari (MOP) 1:00.4, 2. R. Anjugam (Ethiraj) 1:02.1, 3. E. Preethi (Ethiraj) 1:04.4; 100m hurdles: 1. G. Gayathri (MOP) 14.2, 2. Deepika (MOP) 14.6, 3. Keerthana (Anna Adharsh) 14.9.

10,000m: 1. S. Vijayalakshmi (MOP) 42:32.0, 2. S. Suganya (Ethiraj) 44:01.6, 3. A. Hemalatha (JBAS) 48:12.5.

Triple jump: 1. B. Rukumani (Ethiraj) 11.27m, 2. M. Jeyashamily (MOP) 11.13m, 3. Neethu Thankachan (MOP) 10.98m.

Discus: 1. R. Kumari (MOP) 35.36m, 2. M. Angel Joseph (Ethiraj) 28.69m, 3. Sharon Hudson (Stella Maris) 26.30m.

Javelin: 1. Perpechuva Akshara Anselmo (WCC) 39.76m, 2. R. Jothimani (MOP) 35.97m, 3. S.N. Abinaya (JBAS) 31.89m; 5km walk: 1. M. Divya Bharathi (MOP) 31:43.2, 2. K. Muthu Lakshmi (JBAS) 35:14.3, 3. Senbagavalli (Queen Mary’s) 36.40.3.


100m: 1. Guldeep Singh (Loyola) 10.6, 2. Parthiban (MCC) 11.0, 3. Balalaya (MCC) 11.2; 400m: 1. C. Binu Aquito (MCC) 48.9, 2. M. Murali (Loyola) 49.9, 3. B. Gopi (MCC) 50.8.

10,000m: 1. K. Vigneshwaran (MCC) 36:29.2, 2. S. Poovarasan (Loyola) 36:36.6, 3. P. Isaac (MCC) 36:37.6.

Shot put: 1. V. Sudhir (Loyola) 14.05m, 2. T. Arun Kumar (Loyola) 12.09m, 3. T. Santhosh Kumar (AM Jain) 11.42m.

20km walk: 1. S. Sanjay (Loyola) 2:08.05, 2. Prabhakaran (Thiruthangal) 2:33.58, 3. S. Praveen Kumar (MCC) 2:36.29.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Facile win for South Africa

South Africa cruised to a six-wicket win over New Zealand in the first One-Day International here on Tuesday, guided home by a captain’s... »