Coimbatore: Navarathan Kumar Bafna (24 pts) did the bulk of the scoring as host Friends Basketball Club defeated Ondipudur Basketball Club 58-42 and emerged champion of the basketball tournament for men (above 40) at the VOC Park Corporation Sports Complex courts here on Sunday night.

Earlier, Railways, thanks to a useful contribution from Pandiyarajan (24), beat Tirupur Basketball Club 49-41 to clinch the third spot.

Dr. David V. Rajan, arthroscopy and sports medicine specialist, gave away the prizes.

The results: Final: Friends BBC 58 (Navarathan Kumar Bafna 24, Hari Hara Sudhan 18, C. Anand 10) bt Ondipudur BBC 42 (Ravichandran 10, Ramesh 10, Paulson 12).

Third place: Railways 49 (Pandiyarajan 24, Shahul Hamed 12) bt Tirupur BBC 41 (Krishnamurthy 18, Narayanasamy 12) .

Jahangir wins

The sixth week of the Udhagamandalam golfing season witnessed an exciting battle at the Ootacamund Gymkhana Club on Sunday.

The Dunlop Shield, played as a warm-up match prior to the South India Open to be played over four rounds next week, saw Maheswaran fritter away a seven-shot lead to Jahangir.

The former shot a one-over 71 to establish a seven-shot lead on the opening day but lost ground rapidly the next day. The scores:

Dunlop Shield: Gross: 1. Jahangir 152 (better second nine); 2. Maheswaran 152; Nett: 1. V. Rajendran 136; 2. S.A. Sridhar 141.

Cotton City Challenge (0-16): 1. V. Rajendran 63, 2. Raghavendra Naidu 65; 17-30: 1. S.A. Sridhar 65; 2. Dr. N. Anandamoorthy 68; Gross: 1. Jahangir 70; 2. Sardhar 74 .

Wonder in final

Wonder XI Cricket Club posted a four-wicket win over Rising Stars Cricket Club and entered the final of the TNCA-NDCA second division league for the Murali Babu Rolling Trophy at the JSS Public School grounds in Udhagamandalam on Sunday.

In the final, Wonder XI will take on New Star Cricket Club, which defeated ‘A' Classic Cricket Club by eight wickets.

The scores: Semifinals:

Rising Stars CC 177 (I. Saurabh four for 33, A. Ignatius three for 25) lost to Wonder XI CC 180 for six in 37.4 overs (A. Maria Stalin 51, V.J. Jibin three for 34).

‘A' Classic CC 91 (M. Prakash three for 4) lost to New Stars CC 92 for two in 9.3 overs (K. Arun 47).

Two share lead

M. Kunal and M. Vinoth Kumar shared the lead with four points each after the fourth round of the State senior FIDE-rated chess championship at Mannargudi on Monday.

Important results (fourth round): G. Akash 3.5 drew with T.U. Naveen Khanna 3.5; M. Kunal 4 bt Ramesh Kumar 3; G. Jasvant 3 lost to M. Vinoth Kumar 4; Ganesh 3.5 drew with Venkatsundaram 3.5; K. Suresh 3 lost to Ram S. Krishnan 3.5; P. Maheswaran 3.5 bt Vijayasarathy 2.5; J. Nishvin 3 drew with Arun Karthik 3; K. Narayanan 3.5 bt Dhanasekaran 2.5; Giriman Jha 3 drew with Santharam 3; Lokesh 3 drew with Vigneshwaran 3 .

Jegan and

Udayakumar shine

Jegan (five for 18) and Udayakumar (89) starred for K.K. Nagar Kings and Rockfort Riders respectively in the Vasan Estates-Tiruchi Premier League Twenty20 cricket in Tiruchi.

The scores: League: Manapparai Supersonic 96 in 17.2 overs (Sarath 40, Prabhakaran three for 11) lost to K.K. Nagar Kings 97 for three in 18 overs (J. Sudhakar 57, Vinoth Kumar 31, Sarath two for nine).

Rockfort Riders 192 for six in 20 overs (Udayakumar 89, Surendradoss 41, Gokul two for 10, Suresh two for 22, Ibram Sha two for 37) bt Township Titans 142 for seven in 20 overs (Ranjith 41, Gopikrishna 26, Kasthurirangan two for 14, S. Jeraldd two for 26).

Williams Road Warriors 147 for seven in 20 overs (J. Harikrishnan 56, R. Nishanth 32 n.o., A. Sathish Kumar 31, K. Balasundaram three for 21) bt Manapparai Supersonic 113 for seven in 20 overs (K. Balasundaram 26 n.o., S. Gowrishankar 26, R. Shanmugaraja two for 25).

Cantonment Super Kings 126 for seven in 20 overs (M. Balamurugan 22, Jegan five for 18, N. Vishu Kumar two for 29) lost to K.K. Nagar Kings 127 for six in 19.4 overs (A. Babuji 29, Jegan 27, Srinivasan two for 23).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper