Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: Five Grandmasters, including National champion Surya Shekhar Ganguly and his Kolkata-mate Sandipan Chanda, were made to slow down and little-known local coach Sandeep Chitkara handed out a shock defeat to Woman Grandmaster Swati Ghate before her birthday party following a lively third round action of the fourth Parsvnath International Open chess tournament here on Monday.

Even as 17 leaders emerged with perfect scores, some of the lowly-rated players hit a high by proving equal to bigger names. Former National junior champion G.N. Gopal walked into Ganguly's home preparation in Sicilian Najdorf and took his time to find the right continuation over the board. In spite of slipping to just half hour of thinking time as against Ganguly's 90 minutes at one stage, Gopal squeezed out a highly creditable draw in 47 moves.

Two rounds are scheduled on Tuesday.

The results (Indians unless stated):

Third round: D. Harika (2) lost to Alexei Fedorov (Blr) (3); Surya

Shekhar Ganguly (2.5) drew with G.N. Gopal (2.5); Ziaur Rehman (Ban) (3) bt Rahul Shetty (2); Konstantin Cherysov (Rus) (2.5) drew with Prathamesh Mokal (2.5); Preetham Sharma (2) lost to Nurlan Ibraev (Kaz) (3); Sandipan Chanda (2.5) drew with T.S. Ravi (2.5); Mehdi Hasan (Ban) (2) lost to Marat Dzhumaev (Uzb) (3); Rahul Sangma (2) lost to R.B. Ramesh (3); R. Balasubramanium (2.5) drew with S. Vijayalakshmi (2.5); Abdulla Al-Rakib (Ban) (3) bt Nasir Ahmed (Ban) (2); Nisha Mohota (2.5) drew with Enamul Hossain (Ban) (2.5); Atanu Lahiri (2.5) drew with Niaz Murshed (Ban) (2.5); V. Koshy (2.5) drew with Sriram Jha (2.5); Shashikant Kutwal (2) lost to M.R. Venkatesh (1); T. Purshottaman (2.5) drew with Alexander Raetsky (Rus) (2.5); R.R. Laxman (2) lost to Rishipal Singh (3); S. Meenakshi (2.5) drew with S. Poobesh Anand (2.5); Himanshu Sharma (2.5) drew with Beenish Bhatia (2.5); K. Ratnakaran (2.5) drew with Syed Anwar Shazuli (2.5); O.T. Anil Kumar (2) lost to R. Zhumabaev (Kaz) (3); S. Satyapragyan (2.5) drew with Nassir Wajih (2.5); Amardeep Bartakke (2) lost to Vikramaditya Kamble (3); Arghyadip Das (3) bt C. Natarajan (2); N. Srinath (2) lost to Parimarjan Negi (3); D.P. Singh (2.5) drew with M.R. Lalith Babu (2.5); Deep Sengupta (3) bt Gurpreet Pal Singh (2); Krishan Soni (2) lost to Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury (3); S. Arun Prasad (3) bt M. Vinoth Kumar (2); T.S. Pradeep (2) lost to Vishal Sareen (3); Tania Sachdev (2.5) drew with Abhyudya Rajpurohit (2.5); Vidit Gujarathi (2) lost to Saptarshi Roy (3); C. Praveen Kumar (1.5) lost to Pavel Kotsur (Kaz) (2.5); Nasir Ali (1.5) lost to Abhijit Kunte (2.5); S. Kidambi (2.5) bt Akshat Khamparia (1.5); Dibyendu Barua (2.5) bt Soumitra Majumdar (1.5); B.S. Sivanandan (2.5) bt K. Ramu (1.5); Abhijeet Gupta (2) drew with B. Adhiban (2); Lanka Ravi (2.5) bt S. Manikandaswamy (1.5); Jitendra Kumar Choudhary (1.5) lost to Anuar Ismagambetov (Kaz) (2.5).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper