New Zealand and Pakistan open their Test series here on Friday, keen to salvage reputations despite the series' sideline status on a tour dominated by the short form of the game and eyes focused on the spot-fixing scandal. Only two Tests are on the schedule, instead of the customary three, with the focus of the Pakistan tour more on the six one-day internationals to follow as a warm up to the World Cup.

The teams: New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (capt.), Brendon McCullum, Tim McIntosh, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Reece Young, Tim Southee, Brent Arnel, Chris Martin, James Franklin and Daryl Tuffey.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt.), Mohammad Hafeez, Taufeeq Umar, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Adnan Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Umar Gul, Tanvir Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir and Wahab Riaz . — AFP

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper