Fernando sinks Bangladesh

print   ·   T  T  
FIRST ONE FALLS: Tamim Iqbal’s dismissal saw Bangladesh collapse against Sri Lanka in the first of the three-match one-day series.
FIRST ONE FALLS: Tamim Iqbal’s dismissal saw Bangladesh collapse against Sri Lanka in the first of the three-match one-day series.

Fifties by Chamara Silva, Tharanga

COLOMBO: Fast bowler Dilhara Fernando’s career-best four for 24 guided Sri Lanka to a 70-run win in the first limited overs international against Bangladesh on Friday to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful won his first toss of the tour, sent the host in to bat, and saw his bowlers restrict a powerful Sri Lanka batting lineup to 234 runs from the allotted 50 overs.

Chamara Silva and Upul Tharanga scored half-centuries, but the visitors snapped up wickets at crucial times and never allowed the batsmen to dominate.

The achievable total gave Bangladesh a good chance to win its second ever limited-overs match against Sri Lanka, who were missing strike bowlers Muttiah Muralitharan and Chaminda Vaas.

Bangladesh collapse

But Sri Lanka’s bowlers, led by Fernando, proved too much for Bangladesh as it crumbled to be all out for 164 runs in 40.3 overs.

Openers Shahriar Nafees and Tamim Iqbal showed determination with a 45-run partnership for the first wicket before Fernando struck to have Iqbal caught at first slip for 11 and in the same over trap Tushar Imran lbw without scoring.

That double strike precipitated a collapse. — AP

Sri Lanka: U. Tharanga c Rahim b Reza 57, S. Jayasuriya b Rasel 21, K. Sangakkara c Rahim b Mortaza 16, M. Jayawardene c Hasan b Rasel 2, C. Silva lbw b Razzaq 65, T. Dilshan c Ashraful b Mortaza 24, J. Mubarak (not out) 22, F. Mahroof (not out) 16, Extras (lb-4, w-6, nb-1) 11, Total (for six wkts. in 50 overs) 234.

Fall of wickets: 1-33, 2-58, 3-67, 4-150, 5-190, 6-206.

Bangladesh bowling: Mortaza 10-1-31-2, Rasel 10-2-43-2, Razzaq 10-0-48-1, Reza 10-0-42-1, Hasan 8-0-50-0, Ahmed 2-0-16-0.

Bangladesh: S. Nafees c Silva b Fernando 33, T. Iqbal c Jayawardene b Fernando 11, T. Imran lbw b Fernando 0, Shakib-Al Hasan c Sangakkara b Mahroof 0, Mohd. Ashraful c Mahroof b Fernando 4, A. Ahmed lbw b Malinga 16, M. Rahim c Tharanga b Bandara 28, F. Reza c Tharanga b Jayasuriya 28, M. Mortaza c & b Bandara 6, A. Razzaq (run out) 28, S. Rasel (not out) 1, Extras (lb-3, w-5, nb-1) 9, Total (in 40.3 overs) 164.

Fall of wickets: 1-45, 2-46, 3-47, 4-52, 5-56, 6-76, 7-118, 8-131, 9-148.

Sri Lanka bowling: Mahroof 10-3-32-1, Malinga 7-0-17-1, Fernando 9-1-24-4, Bandara 9-0-64-2, Jayasuriya 4-0-23-1, Dilshan 1-1-0-0, Mubarak 0.3-0-1-0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

It’s a huge challenge: Neeraj

Former Delhi Police Commissioner Neeraj Kumar will assist the BCCI’s Anti Corruption & Security Unit (ACSU) for a period of one year whil... »