Anantapur’s Vinay Kumar High School outplayed Zilla Parishad High School, Chigicherla 6-0 in the final of the Fr. Vincent Ferrer memorial sixth RDT district-level hockey championship for boys at Anantapur Sports Village on Thursday.

Shiva and Nana Reddy scored a brace each while Basha and Veeranna sounded the board once.

In the league fixtures for girls, Rural Development Trust, Raptadu, blanked ZPHS, Talupuru 3-0 while ZPHS, Chegicherla defeated ZPHS, Pedapalli 2-0.

The results:

Boys (final): Vinay Kumar HS 6 (Shiva 2, Nana Reddy 2, Basha, Veeranna) bt ZPHS, Chigicherla 0.

Girls (league results): Rural Development Trust, Raptadu 3 (Nalini 2, Mahalakshmi), bt ZPHS, Talupuru 3-0, ZPHS, Chegicherla (Aswini, Maheswari) bt ZPHS, Pedapalli 2-0, ZPHS, Narimetla 0 drew with ZPHS, Gadekal 0, Vinay Kumar HS, Anantapur 5 (Mahalakshmi 3, Padma 2) bt ZPHS, Muttala 0.

Chess tournament

The two-day AP State chess championship for men and women, a selection tournament for forthcoming National team championship, will be held at Sri Vasavi Kanyakaparameswari auditorium at Tadepalligudem on February 2 and 3, according to the West Godavari Chess Association.

As many as 200 players are expected to take part.

City archers in AP team

The following archers from the Volga Academy will represent AP in the 35th junior National archery championship to be held at Hyderabad from February 12 to 20.

Men: Compound: Ritual Chatterjee, Naveen Kumar, Akhil Chowdary. Recurve: Nagul Meera, Venkaiah, B. Naresh. Women: Compound: Vennam Jyothi Surekha, Purvasha, Anusha Reddy, Sai Vaishnavi.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper