Coimbatore: Left-arm spinner Muthukumar scalped six for 9 in R.S. Puram Cricket Club’s thrilling one-run win over Rainbow Jeeva Cricket Club in the Canara Bank-CDCA third division cricket league for the Servall Trophy at the PSGIMSR grounds here on Sunday.

The scores: South India Manchester CC 135 in 38.3 overs (Arumugam 50) lost to Lucky Youngstar 139 for eight in 42.3 overs (Marudanayagam 55).

R.S. Puram CC 87 for nine in 36 overs bt Rainbow Jeeva CC 86 in 26 overs (Muthukumar six for 9).

Vigneshwaran lifts title

N. Vigneshwaran emerged the open category champion in the district level chess tournament, organised by the Indian Chess Academy, at the Geetha Hall on Sunday.

Final standings

U-8: 1. K. Priyanka (Bharath Kids), 2. D. Jai Aditya (Lisieux), 3. S. Kiran Kailesh (Little Flower), 4. G. Abhirama Srinidhi (GDN Erode).

U-11: 1. R. Kowshik Muthesh (Kikani), 2. R. Aravind (Erode), 3. Krishnalni (Avila), 4. R.R. Mohan Pradeep (Vidya Vikasini).

U-14: 1. K.K. Naveen Bharathi (GRD), 2. K. Samyukta (Sri Nehru Vidyalaya), 3. A.P. Arujun Kumar (SBOA), 4. K. Arun Kumar (SBOA).

U-17: 1. K.K. Gowtham (SSN), 2. S. Prasath (M.A.S. Gandhi), 3. S.N. Navaneetham (Bharathi Kids), 4. G. Dino Biju (Infant Jesus).

Open: 1. N. Vigneshwaran, 2. R. Ganesh, 3. Krishna Kumar, 4. R. Murali.

TT tournament

The sixth annual ‘Catch them Young’ district level table tennis tournament for boys and girls for the G.S. & Co and S.R. Jewellery Rolling trophies will be conducted at the Youngsters Table Tennis Academy Hall from October 31 to November 2.

Entries must reach K. Raghuraman, Tournament Director and Chief Referee, 33, Muthu Engineering, NSR Road, Saibaba Colony, Coimbatore-11 before Oct. 29.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper