The South African cricket selectors kept faith with their Test team but made major changes to the Twenty20 squad ahead of a home series against New Zealand.

Announcing the squads in Cape Town, selection convener Andrew Hudson said the Test side earned the vote of confidence of the selectors when it confirmed its ranking as the World’s No. 1 team by defeating Australia earlier this month.

A.B. de Villiers was selected in the Twenty20 squad for three matches against New Zealand, starting in Durban on December 21, but relinquished the captaincy to former schoolmate Faf du Plessis.

Hudson said de Villiers remained the first choice captain but that he would be one of the senior players who would be rotated during the series.

“We want to have one captain for the entire series,” said Hudson.

The teams: Test: Graeme Smith (capt.), Hashim Amla, A.B. de Villiers (wk), Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Jacques Rudolph and Dale Steyn.

T20: du Plessis (capt.), Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, Quinton de Kock (wk), de Villiers (wk), Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Steyn and Lonwabo Tsotsobe. — AFP

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper