Special Correspondent

Three share lead after six rounds

  • Kunte, Gopal and D.P. Singh upset
  • Safin was lucky to win against Abhijit Kunte

    NEW DELHI: Nearly 16 years ago on a January morning, Dibyendu Barua and Alexey Dreev had shared the headlines in Indian newspapers for different reasons. Barua had become the country's second Grandmaster in Kolkata and Dreev was Viswanathan Anand's first World championship victim in Chennai.

    Over the years, both Barua and Dreev have remained under-achievers after showing great potential early in their careers. But when the two came face to face in the sixth round of the Parsvnath International Open chess tournament on Thursday, it was the top-seeded Russian Grandmaster who proved stronger and became part of the three-man leader group at the Indira Gandhi Stadium.

    Reasons to rue

    Barua had reasons to rue the loss. Soon after the opening moves of Sicilian Classical, Barua missed a knight sacrifice for two pawns that could have given him plenty of compensation. However, once the veteran Indian GM grew defensive, Dreev did not give him another chance and slowly squeezed out a victory in 40 moves.

    Dreev joined Uzbek Shukhrat Safin and S. Arun Prasad in the lead at 5.5points. Safin was lucky to win against fifth seed Abhijit Kunte in their Kings' Indian game after the Indian pressed too hard and too long in search of a win. Kunte miscalculated the order of moves during his relentless offensive and Safin was quick to punish him in 39 moves.

    Important win

    Arun Prasad, a former Asian junior champion and third in the National championship last month, upstaged 2005 joint champion Saidali Iuldechev.

    The results (sixth round): Dibyendu Barua (5) lost to Alexey Dreev (Rus, 5.5); Yuri Drozdovskij (Ukr, 5) drew with Abhijeet Gupta (5); S. Kidambi (5) drew with Ziaur Rehman (Ban, 5); Abhijit Kunte (4.5) lost to Shukhrat Safin (Uzb, 5.5); Saidali Iuldachev (Uzb, 4.5) lost to S. Arun Prasad (5.5); Deepan Chakkravarthy (5) drew with G. Rohit (5); Poobesh Anand (5) drew with Pravin Thipsay (5); Roktim Bandyopadhyay (4) lost to Ahmed Adly (Egy, 5); Abdulla Al-Rakib (Ban, 5) bt P.D.S. Girinath (4); Chandrashekhar Gokhale (4) lost to Neelotpal Das (5); Ezat Mohamed (Egy, 5) bt Preetham Sharma (4); Somak Palit (4) lost to Himanshu Sharma (5); Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury (4.5) drew with Nassir Wajih (4.5); P. Shyam Nikhil (5) bt G.N. Gopal (4); Sriram Jha (4.5) drew with M.R. Lalith Babu (4.5); Saptarshi Roy (4.5) drew with Ravi Hegde (4.5); Shashikant Kutwal (5) bt S. Satyapragyan (4); K. Ratnakaran (4) lost to B. Adhiban (5); Gurpreet Pal Singh (4) lost to Arghyadip Das (5); S. P. Sethuraman (5) bt Anwesh Upadhyay (4); Surya Shekhar Ganguly (4.5) bt M. Srinivasa Rao (3.5); Ram Prakash (4.5) bt Diwakar Prasad Singh (3.5); M.R. Venkatesh (4.5) bt Prasenjit Dutta (3.5); S. Vijayalakshmi (4.5) bt Padmini Rout (3.5); Niaz Murshed (Ban, 4.5) bt O.T. Anil Kumar (3.5); Mohammad Ali (Ban, 4) drew with G.B. Prakash (4); Mahmood Lodhi (Pak, 4.5) bt Manthan Chokshi (3.5) Prathamesh Mokal (3.5) lost to Praful Mehta (4.5); Sohan Phadke (4.5) bt Nasir Ahmed (3.5); Akash Thakur (3.5) lost to Praveen Kumar (4.5).

    More In: SPORT | Today's Paper