Scalps five for 36; Suresh too joins the party

Debutant left-arm spinner D.T. Chandrasekhar and the experienced S. Suresh Kumar, bowling off-spin, came up with five-wicket hauls on the opening day of the third round in the TNCA first division league here on Thursday.

The twenty-year-old Chandrasekhar from Tiruvallur District claimed five for 36 for Alwarpet as AG’s Office was bowled out for 184 at the Murugappa ground. N.S. Chaturved made 46 but the batting side collapsed from 170 for five.

Suresh scalps five

Suresh Kumar scalped five on a day when UFCC (T. Nagar), suffering a mid-innings slump, struggled to 198 for eight against Grand Slam at Chepauk. M. Shah Rukh Khan notched up 49.

At the MRF-Pachaiyappa ground, Globe Trotters was dismissed for 123 with Young Stars paceman R. Rohit taking four for 35. In reply, Young Stars was 106 for three, Wilkins Victor on 47.

K.H. Gopinath’s unbeaten 96 (156b, 11x4) enabled Jolly Rovers reach a healthy 269 for three against T.I. Cycles at the IIT-Chemplast ground. Gopinath and Anand Subramanian 52 (149b, 4x4) added 127 runs in 44.5 overs for the third wicket. Murali Vijay contributed 58 (90b, 6x4, 1x6).

India Pistons was dismissed for 182 by Vijay CC at the IC-Guru Nanak ground; the last pair of M. Mohammad (45 not out, 119b, 4x4, 2x6) and S. Mohanraj (11) put on 62 in 32.4 overs.

For Vijay, off-spinner Malolan Rangarajan (four for 41) produced his fourth successive haul of four or more wickets this season.

Akkil Srinaath (75, 206b, 9x4, 1x6) and Shoaib Mohammad Khan (48 not out) raised 77 for the eighth wicket in 36 overs to help TSC end the day at 228 for eight against IOB at Vivekananda College ground.

The scores: At IIT-Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 269 for three in 90 overs (M. Vijay 58, K.H. Gopinath 96 batting, Anand Subramanian 52) vs T.I. Cycles.

At IC-Guru Nanak: India Pistons 182 in 89.2 overs (M. Mohammad 45 not out, Malolan Rangarajan four for 41) vs Vijay.

At Vivekananda: TSC 224 for eight in 105 overs (Akkil Srinaath 75, Shoaib Mohammad Khan 48 not out) vs IOB.

At Murugappa: AG’s Office 184 in 83.4 overs (N.S. Chaturved 46, D.T. Chandrasekhar five for 36) vs Alwarpet four without loss in four overs.

At MRF-Pach: Globe Trotters 123 in 47.2 overs (R. Rohit four for 35) vs Young Stars 106 for three in 39 overs (Wilkins Victor 47 not out).

At Chepauk: UFCC (T. Nagar) 198 for eight in 90 overs (Shah Rukh Khan 49, S. Suresh Kumar five for 56) vs Grand Slam.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper