Dr. NGP and Nirmala are overall champions

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
R. Vishnu Varthan of Sree Saraswathi Thyagaraja College shattered the 13-year-old mark in shot put.— PHOTO: K. Ananthan
R. Vishnu Varthan of Sree Saraswathi Thyagaraja College shattered the 13-year-old mark in shot put.— PHOTO: K. Ananthan

Dr. NGP College of Arts and Science and Nirmala College clinched the overall championship for men and women respectively in the 32nd Bharathiar University inter-collegiate athletics meet at the Nehru Stadium here on Friday.

Mohammed Salahuddin of PSGCAS and Siva Anbarasi of PSGR Krishnammal emerged the best athletes in their respective categories. Incidentally, both turned out to be triple jumpers.

Three records broken

Three records took a beating on the final day of which two came in the women’s section. But it was R. Vishnu Varthan who stole the show with a record throw in men’s discus. A student of Sree Saraswathi Thyagaraja College in Pollachi, Vishnu heaved the iron plate to a distance of 45.95m for the gold and the record. His effort shattered the 13-year-old mark of 44.95m set by S. Karunanidhi of Maruthi College in 2000.

R. Poongodi (10,000m, Gobi Arts) and M. Deepika (pole vault, Nirmala College) were the other record-breakers of the day.

The results:

Men: 200m: 1. A. Deepan Chakravarthi (STC) 22.9s; 2. R. Ramakrishnan (STC); 3. B. Senthil Raman (Sri Krishna). 400m hurdles: 1. M. Parthiban (Dr. NGP) 57.1s; 2. R. Mohanraj (Gobi Arts); 3. B. Jothi Ranjan (PSGCAS). 10,000m: 1. R. Rajesh (STC, Pollachi) 32:55.9s; 2. S. Vairavanathan (STC); 3. A. Siva Sakthi (Gobi Arts).

Long jump: 1. S.N. Mohammed Salahuddin (PSGCAS) 7.04m; 2. Praveen Muthu Kumar (PSGCAS); 3. Kevin Ronaldu (Dr. GRD). Discus: 1. R. Vishnu Varthan (STC) 45.95m (NMR); 2. M. Varun (PSGCAS); 3. M. Muthu Subramani (PSGCAS). Pole vault: 1. S. Duraimurugan (Dr. NGP) 3.30m; 2. D. Anbarasu (Dr. SNS); 3. R. Saravana Kumar (STC). 4x400m: 1. STC 3:22.5s (NMR); 2. Dr. NGP; 3. Sri Krishna.

Best athlete: Mohammed Salahuddin (PSGCAS) 1,017 points. Overall championship: 1. Dr. NGP (60); 2. STC (58).

Women: 200m: 1. R. Mohana (Nirmala) 27.9s; 2. A. Vennila (PKR); 3. A. Manjusri (Nirmala). 400m hurdles: 1. G. Sathya (Nirmala) 1:13.7s; 2. R. Rajithia (Bharathiar); 3. L. Kokila (Gobi Arts). 10,000m: 1. R. Poongodi (Gobi Arts) 37.29.7s (NMR); 2. E. Bharani (Gobi Arts); 3. V. Kiruthika (Dr. NGP).

Pole vault: 1. M. Deepika (Nirmala) 2.15m (NMR); 2. G. Poovarasi (Nirmala); 3. K. Sumathi (Gobi Arts).

Long jump: 1. M.A. Shivanbarasi (PSGRK) 5.28m; 2. P. Shilpa (Providence); 3. M. Keerthana (PKR). Heptathlon: 1. P. Jayanthi (Dr. NGP) 2,926 points; 2. G. Sathya (Nirmala); 3. T. Hemalatha (Dr. NGP). 4x400m: 1. Nirmala (4:25.8s); 2. PSGR Krishnammal; 3. PKR Arts.

Best athlete: Siva Anbarasi (PSGR Krishnammal) 888 points. Overall championship: 1. Nirmala (81); 2. PSGR Krishnammal (33).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Devendro in final

Commonwealth Games silver-medallist L. Devendro Singh (49kg) advanced to the final, while six others entered the semifinals as Indian box... »