Top-seed Rithvik Choudary of Andhra Pradesh (boys’ under-12 singles and doubles) and P.N. Prathiba of Karnataka (girls’ under-12 singles and doubles) bagged a grand double in the Skyway AITA Talent series tennis tournament conducted by R. Nagaraj’s Tennis Centre at the SJCE courts here on Friday.

In the boys’ under-12 singles final, Rithvik scored an easy 6-2, 6-1 win over the fourth seeded S. Boopathy of Tamil Nadu. On Thursday, Rithvik had won the boys’ doubles title with G. Tushar Vishnu.

Prathiba won the girls’ under-12 singles beating second-seed B. Prarthana of Karnataka 7-6(1), 6-4.

The prizes were given away by Vasudeva Bhat, President, Vijaya Vittala Educational Institutions, Mysore and Mrs. Vishal, CEO, Skyway Travels, Mysore.

The results (all finals): Boys: Under-14: Rohit Narasihman (Kar) bt Rithvik Choudary (AP) 6-4, 7-5.

Under-12: Rithvik Choudary (AP) bt S. Boopathy (TN) 6-2, 6-0.

Girls: Under-14: S. Swathishi (TN) bt Fatima Juveria (AP) 6-2, 6-1.

Under-12: P.N. Prathibha (Kar) bt B.P. Prarthana (Kar) 7-6 (7-1), 6-4.

Chipli sizzles

State player Bharath Chipli scored a century to help Canara Bank post a big win over Central Excise & Customs in a Dell-KSCA Group II, first division match in Bangalore recently.

Aided by K.N. Bharath, who missed a ton by a run, Chipli took Canara Bank to a mammoth 340 in its 50 overs. The rival’s chase was cut short at 205 all-out, with former India international Sunil Joshi picking up three wickets.

The scores: Canara Bank 340 for five in 50 overs (Bharath Chipli 140, K.N. Bharath 99, Deepak Chougule 37) bt Central Excise & Customs 205 in 45.4 overs (Aditya Sagar 53, N. Sunil Raju 52, A.V. Sandeep 45, B. Naveen 27, Sunil Joshi three for 15, Deepak Chougule three for 39).

SWR Institute (Mysore) 122 in 32.3 overs (S. Dhananjaya 30, Sharath Babu 29, C. Raghavendra five for 11) lost to Vijaya Bank 123 for one in 15 overs (Rohan Kadam 66 n.o., Md. Aslam 49).

RWL Sports Association 262 for nine in 50 overs (P. Yogesh 89, R. Jonathan 62, Prasanna Patil 32, Manjesh Reddy 28, Venkat four for 48) bt IAF CC 94 in 32 overs (Yashish 33, Prasanna Patil five for nine).

KPTCL Sports Organisation 177 in 47.5 overs (Rajashekar 56, Kanti 50, Cariappa three for 19, K. Hoysala three for 27) lost to AGORC Recreation Club 180 for six in 42.4 overs (M.K. Sapthagirish 42 n.o., Sunil Kumar 37 n.o., K. Shashindra 31).

ASC Centre 208 in 47.4 overs (Prem Kumar 55, Sanjay Singh 49 n.o., Pavan Kumar 26, Daniel Sequira four for 41, Bhaskar four for 55) bt HASC 120 in 32.4 overs (Sambaji 45, Daniel Sequira 38, Pavan Kumar four for 10, Sachin Kumar three for 18).

DTDC SC 132 in 48.1 ovrs (Fayaz Ahmad 51, Anand Katti four for six) lost to State Bank of Mysore 134 for no loss in 20.2 overs (B. Akhil 70 n.o., Anirudh Joshi 62 n.o.).

Easy for HASC

Hindustan Aeronautics Sports Club (HASC) inched closer to the BDFA Super Division league title with a thumping 5-1 win over DYSS in Bangalore at the Football Stadium on Friday.

Nearest rival South United has three matches to go this season, and will need to register victories to have a shot at the championship. HASC has one match to go.

The results:

DYSS 1 (Sunil) lost to HASC 5 (Vinoth Kumar 3, Emmanuel, Hamza); KGF Academy 4 (A.D. Kumar, Rajesh, Pratap, Sanoj) bt RWF 0.

Vasu SC keeps winning

Vasu SC (Hubli) scored yet another emphatic win — a 5-2 verdict over Belgaum HC — in a B Division hockey league encounter at the KSHA Stadium in Bangalore on Friday.

Abhishek and Narendra Jaldar put Vasu 2-0 up before the 10th minute before Sachin Pawar scored the first of his two goals for Belgaum HC.

Karthik and B. Lokesh then put the Hubli side 4-1 ahead before Sachin netted his second.

With just minutes remaining Karthik netted his second goal to ensure a thumping win for Vasu SC.

Hockey tourney

The Field Marshall K.M. Cariappa Cup state-level hockey tournament, conducted by the Kodava Samaj — Bangalore, will be held at the KSHA Stadium, from February 1 to 10.

The tournament is open to all affiliated units of KSHA.

Entries close on January 20. Details contact P.U. Bopanna, Sports Chairman, Mob: 99018 91400 or KSHA office – 22277007 / 22277373.

Cricket tournament

Twelve college teams from around the country will vie for four semifinal spots when the qualifying rounds for the Red Bull college cricket tournament commence at Mysore on January 14.

The teams (all city-champions): Ahmedabad: R.J.T. College; Vadodara: MSU Faculty of Commerce; Pune: MMCC.

Mumbai: Rizvi College; Jalandhar: Trinity College.

Chandigarh: DAV College; Delhi: Kirorimal College.

Kolkata: Prafula Chandra College; Hyderabad: Aurora College; Cochin: St. Paul’s College.

Chennai: RKM Vivekananda College; Bangalore: Jain College.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper