Diptayan Ghosh of South Point School won his last round with ease to accomplish an all-win record (10 points) and lift the title in the 24th The Telegraph schools’ chess at the Gorky Sadan on Thursday.

Diptayan, who has confirmed the requisite IM title norms last year, opted for Ruy Lopez Opening as black against Arpan Das (7.5).

Diptayan completely outplayed Arpan and forced him to resign in 38 moves.

In the second board Diptayan’s schoolmates Kaustuv Kundu (8.5) and Mitrabha Guha (8) split points in 21 moves while in the third board Suvradeepta Das of Aditya Academy and Khushi Dharewa of Ashok Hall Girls’ HS played an uneventful draw in 42 moves.

With Diptayan, Kaustav, who came second, and Mitrabha (fourth) dominating the top four positions, South Point was declared the champion school. Saint James School was named the runner-up.

The top positions:

1. Diptayan Ghosh (10 points), 2. Kaustuv Kundu (8.5), 3. Suvradeepta Das (8), 4. Mitrabha Guha (8), 5. Rajdeep Sarkar (8), 6. Aditya Chowdhury (8), 7. Sayan Majumdar (8), 8. Khushi Dharewa (8), 9. Kaustav Bhattacharya (8), 10. Ritabroto Ganguly (8).

Varun stuns Mahesh

Unseeded Varun Vaiko Durai of Tamil Nadu blew away the third-seeded Mahesh Mohapatra of Odisha in straight sets in the boys’ singles under-14 quarterfinals of the Go Cheese AITA junior championship series at Shyambazar Club on Thursday.

The results: U-14: Quarterfinals:

Boys: Parikshit Somani (Asm) bt Sree Harshit (AP) 6-3, 6-0; Varun Vaiko Durai (TN) bt Mahesh Mohapatra (Odi) 6-2, 6-0; Arnab Banerjee (Ben) bt Ruchit Goud (AP) 6-0, 6-1; Ishaan Tibrewal (Ben) bt Yuvraj Singh Kooka (Chd) 6-2, 6-0.

Girls: Adrija Biswas (Ben) Aesha Patel (Guj) 1-6, 6-2, 7-6(3); Megha Roy (Ben) bt Anushka Burman (Ben) 6-4, 6-2; A. Dharana Mudaliar (AP) bt Aishwarya (AP) 6-1, 6-3; Ishika Gupta (Ben) bt Roshni Sen (Ben) 6-4, 6-3.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper